The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out Of My Mind - FromError 403 to NewInternal Server Error - PLEASE Help!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cybamart, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. Cybamart

    Cybamart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, please would someone help me, I am absolutely at the end of my tether having spent 4 days on this problem to no avail.

    My site suddenly started going to Error 403 Forbidden pages sporadically; my site's URL is http:/cybamart.com and I had a redirecton so that when that root domain was typed it would go to my homepage at http://cybamart.com/hpage2/index.htm - although when this URL was typed directly it would go there, it would come up as Error 403 when the root domain was entered. Similarly, other pages such as http://cybamart.com/store would show Error 403, despite all permissions being correct (755) and each URL having an index file.

    I have just now uninstalled and reinstalled FrontPage extensions and now the entire site is down and showing Error 500 Internal Server Error - no pages can be accessed at all which is making me frantic as I sell membership to a part of the site which has, up until now, fortunately always been accessible.

    Please, please could someone help me with this, I truly am out of my mind with the whole thing and do not know what to do and my host has not responded to any support tickets.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Rename your .htaccess for a moment to something else, and see if the site comes back up and works ok. If so, you've got a problem with that .htaccess somewhere.
     
  3. Cybamart

    Cybamart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just can't tell you how grateful I am!!!!!!!!!

    I am practically delirious with gratitude as that instantly gave me my whole site back!!!

    Do I need to find out what the problem is in the .htaccess file or since the site is working fine without it can I just leave things as they are?

    I actually am a website developer and graphic designer and am just so grateful to you for helping me with this - as such if you would ever like a website, I will build you one for free (I usually charge $200) - this is not some crazy offer, you have just saved me a wholelot of time and expense and seriously if you would like a site then let me know - see cybamart.com/cybasites for more.

    If you could just let me know whether I do need the .htaccess file then I would really appreciate it but I can't tell you how genuinely gratful I am for you fixing my entire site!!!! Thank you so very much.
     
  4. Cybamart

    Cybamart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I have just realised why my last question was silly as I do need the .htaccess file as I can't use FrontPage to alter the site without it!!

    I put the .htaccess back to its own name intending to upload pages with FrontPage and then turn it off again so my site can actually be used but, of course, FrontPage could not access the server as it, too, had the 500 Internal Server Error message.

    Below is my .htaccessfile - please would it be possible to tell what is going wrong with it?

    Again, very many thanks,

    Merril



    # -FrontPage-

    AuthUserFile /home/v4w6tr7c/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
    AuthGroupFile /home/v4w6tr7c/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.grp


    RewriteEngine on
    <Limit GET POST>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from all
    </Limit>

    <Limit GET POST>
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    order allow,deny
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    #deny from all
    allow from all
    </Limit>
    <Limit PUT DELETE>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    </Limit>

    <Files 403.shtml>
    order allow,deny
    allow from all
    </Files>

    #RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
    #RewriteRule ^/?$ http://cybamart.com/homepage/index.htm [R=302,L]


    Options All
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
    RewriteRule ^/?$ http://cybamart.com/hpage2 [R=302,L]AuthName www.cybamart.com
    AuthName cybamart.com
    IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*
     
  5. Cybamart

    Cybamart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have now fixed everything, I adapted the .htaccess file to this

    and all works and uploads with FrontPage and to view.

    Infopro, I want to thank you sincerely for your help, you single-handedly put an end to days of frustration, time and lost income whilst my site was down. You also saved simultaneous damage to my laptop and window!!!!!! Seriously, thank you more than I can say.
     
  6. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Hopefully, soon you will learn to write a website without FrontPage, so you only need to use .htaccess for what it was actually intended to be used for .......... ;)

    :D Bailey
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,466
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're certainly welcome. :p
     
  8. Cybamart

    Cybamart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you again, so much :)
     

Share This Page