The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outlook AutoConfig disappeared?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JustinK, Nov 15, 2002.

  1. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Brought to our attention today, the Outlook Autoconfig in Cpanel has disappeared. This is only on our newest servers, the only ones and the new ones are both on the Stable release 3. Checking on an older server that runs automatic Release releases, the Autoconfig is still there.

    Was there an option added and buried somewhere that I can't find or was it somehow removed only from newer servers? I've got my head spinning with this puzzle. :)
     
  2. TedButz

    TedButz Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, go under the main menu, its tweak settings i think and choose Outlook AutoConfig and make sure the tickbox has a tick in it :)
     
  3. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had checked in the Tweak Settings area already and there was (and still is) nothing mentioning that. The client servers are all set to use the Stable releases.
     
  4. NetEndeavors

    NetEndeavors Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:dabc70b8df][i:dabc70b8df]Originally posted by JustinK[/i:dabc70b8df]

    I had checked in the Tweak Settings area already and there was (and still is) nothing mentioning that. The client servers are all set to use the Stable releases.[/quote:dabc70b8df]

    ...That's 'cause it's not there.

    In WHM, go to CPanel 5 -& Enable/Disable Outlook AutoConfig

    Good Luck!
     
  5. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you. I'll now proceed to hit my head against my desk for not seeing that before.
     
  6. xcpointx

    xcpointx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. Joshfrom

    Joshfrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    White Haven, PA, US
    You must be using IE for it to show up.
     
  8. xcpointx

    xcpointx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    aaahhh... okay, crossbrowser javascript playing up then eh!?? haha. THANKS
     
  9. dataforce

    dataforce Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anychance of getting it to work with other browsers?
     
  10. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    My guess is that if the user went through the trouble of using a browser other than Internet explorer, they either:

    1. Don't like Internet Explorer/OE/MS
    2. Know how to configure their own email client, and prefer some script not update their local settings
    3. Both
     
  11. dataforce

    dataforce Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    we have some users who have recently been forced into using mozilla by their peers, yet still use outlook for their mail.

    These people don't know how to configure their email client and thus relied on the auto configureation script todo the configuration for them.

    just because someone doesn't use IE, doesn't mean they don't use OE
     
  12. 64bitguy

    64bitguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where do you change the pointer?

    While on this subject, if the pointer for webmail is bad, where (and how) do you change it?

    IE... The button is there for webmail, but when the client clicks it, it takes them to an invalid page?

    This is happening with our setup for every email account setup within cPanel EXCEPT for the MAIN account, which does actually take the client to the correct page to login to webmail.

    Thanks
     
  13. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Re: Where do you change the pointer?

    Thats on this subject? I don't see how webmail links have anything to do with an outlook autoconfig.

    Whats the url you are redirected to when you click the link.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Outlook AutoConfig disappeared
  1. Muhammad Omer
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    125

Share This Page