The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overload CPU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by speckados, Jun 23, 2003.

  1. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Each 6 hours, I get this message:
    I go to /var/cpanel/cpanel.config change extracpus to 1, 2 or 3 (for testing pourposes) and run /usr/local/cpanel/startup, but each 6 hours get the same email...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. studentwebhosting

    studentwebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you find an answer to this problem? I am having the same issue on my box and it's clearly an erroneous error! It seems I get a warning every time the CPU load goes over "1" for a minute (not 6 whole hours as the message suggests)

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is usually beacuse of running stats or webalizer and what not, and could not get exclusive access, and the user it got stuck on or the last one to go gets listed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. studentwebhosting

    studentwebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, so do you know any way of supressing this error message? I don't want to lose them completely as I can see they are quite useful but if I could up the threshold to say 2.00 then that would stop most of them.

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. studentwebhosting

    studentwebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    aah, thanks.

    Is it this one:

    or another one?

    I'm new to this root server admin stuff - and I pay someone else to do it anyway but I'm trying to learn as I go along. thanks for your help.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. studentwebhosting

    studentwebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    right, found it. thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep. That would fix it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've experienced this on some servers where this fixed it but it doesn't work on the a server currently having this problem.

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. studentwebhosting

    studentwebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've changed that setting to "2" and I'm still getting the error message evey six hours claiming that it's been overloaded on a 1.xx load?

    Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. ptez

    ptez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I also encounter this problem.
    I think it can be solved if that website shorten the rotation period.

    However, I have no idea how/where to change the setting file for the share website...

    Can anyone help?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. ptez

    ptez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    no one know how to do that?
     
  12. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There should be some options in tweak settings that will set the time between runs, and also how many cpus there are, and what the load average should be before it turns 'Red' or whatever.
     
  13. ptez

    ptez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    for changing rotaion period frequency,
    use:

    /etc/logrotation?.cof
     
  14. osfdeath

    osfdeath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Doesn't stop the fact that the CPU is getting eaten alive by mysql

    It's happening to alot of people since the last updates...
    mmm bugzilla
     
Loading...

Share This Page