Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Override password/security policies

Discussion in 'Security' started by mbressman, Nov 18, 2014.

  1. mbressman

    mbressman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Is there any way to override the password/security policies I've set up on my CentOS Xen VPS running WHM/cPanel temporarily, so that either I, or one of my cPanel account-holders can change a password (such as their cPanel account, an email account, etc.) to something less secure than whatever I've set the default security score as (such as 50)?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Yes, this is adjustable via:

    "WHM Home » Security Center » Password Strength Configuration"

    You would have to temporarily modify the value and then change it back when finished.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mbressman

    mbressman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    But how do I override it temporarily? Would I just adjust the score down, have the password change made, and then adjust it up again?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That would work.
     
  5. Rush_Alien

    Rush_Alien Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I do same you say, but it not ok, it'nt run correct...Can you have any solution else ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you elaborate on how it does not work correctly?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice