The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ownership of DNS zones

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by apolix, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. apolix

    apolix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One of my resellers has just added a domain through "Add a DNS Zone" under "DNS Functions"

    It shows up under the list of domains on the server when logged in as root and the zone has been syncronised across the DNS cluster.

    The reseller now wants to edit the domain it is not listed in his list of domains and if he tries to recreate it he gets and error saying the domain already exists.

    How can I make the zone show in his domain list so that he can edit the zone?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend first checking to ensure your reseller has the Edit DNS privilege. The Add and Edit privileges are separate privileges, meaning a reseller could have the Add privilege but then be unable to edit the DNS entries they created.
     
  3. apolix

    apolix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi David
    I've double checked the reseller's permissions and he has access to all the DNS features
     
  4. eUKAlexP

    eUKAlexP Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It seems that domain DNS entry is missing in reseller user configuration file, Please login in SSH , edit your reseller user cpanel configruation file (/var/cpanel/users/resellerusername) and check following entry

    DNSX=domainname
    Where X is number
    If it is doesn't exit then please add it and run /scripts/updateuserdomains script.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is your full cPanel version number? What you describe resembles a problem introduced, and since fixed, in older builds of 11.24.4.
     
Loading...

Share This Page