The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

packing account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by galantina, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. galantina

    galantina Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi!
    I need some help here.

    I know I can use /scripts/pkgacct to pack account into tar.gz file, but I am interested what script does cpanel use to make backup without compressing. Like when you use Incremental backup in your backup options?


    Thanks. Best regards.
     
  2. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    /scripts/cpbackup
     
  3. galantina

    galantina Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Won't that make tar.gz file again?
     
  4. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    /scripts/cpbackup looks for your WHM backup settings in /etc/cpbackup.conf including whether the backup should be compressed or incremental.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Interestingly enough, when I last had a look, cpbackup actually uses pkgaccnt regardless as to whether you use incrementals or not and removes the tar.gz file after it runs if you have incrementals enabled - at least that's how I read the script.
     
  6. galantina

    galantina Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To make things a bit more clear I need to do incremental backup of only one account. (independently of cpanel automatedbackup). Is that posible? But I mean real incremental, I wouldn't like to pack account to tar.zip and then unpack it. This way it is not realy incremental.

    Thank. Best regards.
     
    #6 galantina, Apr 27, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page