The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Page cannot be found [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HadesVH, May 6, 2005.

  1. HadesVH

    HadesVH Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Page cannot be found

    Hello, everyone, I'm a moderator at the site www.hogwarts-online.org and that's the site that won't load. Admin hasn't done any upgrades whatsoever today, so that can't be it.

    Here's the deal: http://chimera.nocdirect.com/~hogwarts/rpg/ <-- When we go there, we can access the main page. With a small manual modification of the link in the address bar of the browser, we can even access the public forums and read threads. But we can't log in.

    It's like the hogwarts-online.org domain died. Does anybody know if there is a server upgrade scheduled for today or if there have been any malfunctions? Or can someone direct the poor moderators of hogwarts-online.org to someone who can help?

    We'd be very grateful as we've been on cold turkey concerning our beloved forum all day.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Only your hosting provider can investigate and fix that. They need to ensure that the DNS is resolving correctly adn that the domain is setup correctly in httpd.conf.
     
  3. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Sometimes a problem with the provider dial-in. :(

    You can dial in with any ;) provider and you get
    a ip of the providers DNS-Server which connect you
    of other network-knots and wasy to your website.

    :)
     
  4. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Kerstin
    wish you would stop rambling on about nothing , this is a hosting forum speciallizing for cPanel and not a silly comments forum for your dial-up desk top issues
     
    #4 gorilla, May 10, 2005
    Last edited: May 11, 2005
  5. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Surely it is a speciallizing forum for cPanel,
    I`m answer easy to questions and threads which asked. :mad:

    I`m no rumbling out some threads :mad:

    :p
     
    #5 Kerstin, May 11, 2005
    Last edited: May 11, 2005
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Kerstin,

    The problem here is that your answer has absolutely nothing to do with the thread topic which is to do with the reverse DNS PTR record for the server. It has nothing to do with dial-up access and unfortunately the rest of what you said was unintelligible ;)
     
  7. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    chirpy,

    you think a easy entry in the httpd.conf
    can patch the problem ?
    It is only a entry for the localhost ;) .
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Kerstin,

    To answer your question, yes it could be a problem in httpd.conf

    I don't understand what you are saying about localhost which has nothing to do with this. The only person that can help with this issue is the original posters hosting provider.

    I understand that you are trying to help, but your English is not helping you get your ideas across because it is impossible to understand, I'm afraid.
     
  9. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Do a entry in httpd.conf (name entry, ip adress ) routing a
    dns name over the local loopback-adaper (127.0.0.1) to
    the internet-adapter to the entryed ip-adress in httpd.conf ?

    The problem are, the typed in internet adress in the explorer was routed
    to a internet-adress which you not be received by the providers DNS-Server.
    You contact the wrong site (ip-adress) in the web.

    Some of this entrys can be dangerous when you download a freeware program ;) .

    :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page