The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Page Not Found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hip Hop Servers, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After installing cPanel and adding IPs and adding 50+ domains to the server none of the sites can be server from the server. Now can the domains be ping to the ips they are assigned. It is as if the DNS doesnt work. Since it is returning a page not found error.
     
  2. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no website configured

    I am getting an error no website configured at this address when I enter any of the ips of the system to view a site.
     
  3. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Have you updated the DNS records for the relevant domain names to reflect the change in nameservers?

    Have you given time for these changes to propagate?
     
  4. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    DNS Name Info Updated

    All the information is updated and the DNS info is searchable but the server is not displaying sites. If I access just the IP I get the no site is configure page, and I should see the default site on that IP. Some of the sites can be seen via the IP#/~username other cant they return an internal server error message.
     
  5. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but there are a few things I try from my saved notes when something goes wrong.

    In your case, these are what I would try first:

    Restart DNS/Name Server (BIND):
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/named restart


    FIX Bind
    run /scripts/fixndc

    Fix a broken valias file
    /scripts/fixvaliases

    Check for network problems
    netstat -anp | sort -u

    Ping IP/Domain:
    ping domain.com
    OR
    ping 000.000.000.000

    Check the contents of /etc/resolv.conf file and make sure everything there looks in order.



    Make sure all domain zone records are correct.

    Remove any zone records that are old or do not belong there. If you make any changes, save and then exit.


    At the prompt type: pico /etc/host.conf

    This file should look like this:

    order hosts,bind


    At the prompt type: pico /etc/host

    This file should look like this:

    -------------------------------------------

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    123.123.123.12 server1.xyz.com server1
    127.0.0.1 localhost


    Some or all of the above are probably completely irrelevant to your problem, but like I said, I'm no expert, but I try a few things that I know how to do, and if none of those work I start posting in the tech forums.

    I hope any of that will help you. (If any of my suggestions in the tech forums ever work out for someone I will be doing the happy dance!) :D
     
  6. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks but..

    I have ran all of those scripts with no success, and the issue seems to be directly related to the named process. As it is not passing the end user to the sites, and it is not updating the web with the proper info.
     
  7. tuxdesk

    tuxdesk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Please check NameVirtualHost entry for the domain's ip in httpd.conf file.
     
Loading...

Share This Page