The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Park domain + assign to ip

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by priyan, Feb 20, 2004.

  1. priyan

    priyan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello every one!
    I am a newbie in dedicated hosting...
    Would any one kindly help me please?

    :confused: I hvae a dedicated server and 3ips + www.mydomainname.com
    (with 1 ip + www.mydomainname.com i am running my site)

    I want to be a name server for another dedicated server with ip+domain name... (later add others)

    How to proceed? Is there any step by step documents?
    Iam using WHM/Cpanel from www.cpanel.net

    Help:confused:
     
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you wanting to handle DNS for another box? If so, you can just use WHM - DNS - Add A DNS Zone and key in the proper IP's/create the proper entries as required. Of course, the "remote" domain owner would have to ensure that your nameservers were listed with their registrar.

    My suggestion, especially if you are a newbie.... Baby Steps. I've been doing this since Al Gore invented the internet and can still be baffled by the complexities of DNS.
     
  3. priyan

    priyan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dns zone+ registry created

    Dear bamasbest
    1st of all thank you! for helping me:)

    I will describe in detail what i have done so far...

    1-in my WHM under DNS Functions under Add a DNS Zone, I have created 2 DNS which are ns1.mydomain.com (ip:111.111.111.1) and ns2.mydomain.com (ip:111.111.111.2)

    thease are the two name server i created in my DNS zone.

    2. At the registry i have entered thease: ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com


    3. In my WHM under Server Setup in Manage NameserverIps i have created 111.111.111.1 for client with 222.222.222.1

    in here is it saying Ip: 222.222.222.1 Name server:111.111.111.1

    4. in my WHM under Account Functions in create new account i have creater an account for clientdomain.com assign ip 222.222.222.1 with unlimited access...

    because the domain is directed to his dedicated server...
    all i want to do is park his domain in my server and direct it to his server ip...

    I hope i am not too confusing...
    if you could tell me what are the next steps i should falow... that would be great :)
     
  4. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK,

    1. WHM - Add DNS Zone

    Create appropriate A record(s), MX Record(s) and NS records for the domain, all pointing to the IP address that that domain uses.

    2. Ensure that that domain owner initiates modification request with their registrar to point to your Nameservers.

    Take a look at the zone for your domain. Then, add a new zone for the other domain and substitute the other domain's FQDN and IP addresses, while reataining the same info for the nameservers.
     
  5. priyan

    priyan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I dont understand :-(

    bamasbest

    I dont understand :confused: could u be very specific... as I dont understant what ur saying... english isnt my mother language :(

    I need baby steps Please :confused:
     
  6. priyan

    priyan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HOW-TO : Setting up Nameservers in cpanel.

    Seems like there are a lot of request for a HOW-To for Nameserver setup. I have compiled this from a couple different sources.

    Special Notes:
    Some version of WHM/CPanel come with broken NDC. To fix this:

    SSH into your box as root.

    (a) Type: cd /scripts
    (b) Type: ./updatenow
    (c) Type: ./fixndc
    (d) Type: service named stop
    (e) Type: service named start

    ********************************************

    1. Setup Nameservers In WHM
    Go into WHM (Web Host Manager) and select Edit Setup from the Server Setup menu on the left. Enter ns1.newdomain.com in the Primary Nameserver field. Hit 'Assign IP Address' (write the IP down or remember it for the next step). Then hit 'Add an A Entry for this nameserver'.

    Repeat this process for the Secondary Nameserver field.


    2. Register Nameservers
    Go to your domain registrar and register ns1.yourdomain.com (111.111.111.111) and ns2.yourdomain.com (222.222.222.222) as nameservers. 111.111.111.111 being the primary nameserver IP from step 1 and 222.222.222.222 being the secondary.

    These registrations may take a few days to propagate (often as many as 3 days).


    3. Reverse DNS
    You may need Burstnet to enter a reverse DNS pointer (PTR Record) for your nameservers. You'll need to let them know each nameserver and its IP address. Sometimes you can suffer non-delivery of mail if you don't so this. Reverse DNS pointers can take a while to propagate. Send an email to support@burst.net with the following...

    To: support@burst.net
    From: <Your Address>
    Subject: PTR Request

    Please create the following PTR records.
    123.123.123.123 - server.mydomain.com (Main Server IP)
    111.111.111.111 - ns1.mydomain.com (This of course being your info)
    222.222.222.222 - ns2.mydomain.com


    4. Tidy Up Junk Nameservers
    Go into WHM (Web Host Manager) and select Manage Nameserver IPs from the Server Setup menu on the left. Remove any nameservers you don't recognise. This is just a tidy up exercise in case anyone's set anything up on the box before you.


    5. Initial Nameserver Setup
    Go into WHM (Web Host Manager) and select Initial NameServer Setup from the Server Setup menu on the left.


    6. Restart BIND
    Restart BIND from SSH with (step 5 restarts BIND, but sometimes needs a proper stop and start for it to work):

    service named stop
    service named start


    7. Manual Checks
    This process doesn't always work, so there are some things you can check manually via SSH.

    pico /etc/wwwacct.conf
    Check that the nameservers are correctly specified on NS1, NS2 etc.

    pico /etc/resolv.conf
    Check that there are nameserver entries for each IP. There may also be one for 127.0.0.1 - this is okay.

    Should read as follows:

    domain maindomain.com
    search maindomain.com
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 111.111.111.111
    nameserver 222.222.222.222

    Where 'maindomain.com' is the main domain of my server, and '111.111.111.111' and '222.222.222.222' are the IP addresses of my primary and secondary nameservers.


    pico /etc/nameserverips
    Check that there are entries for each IP acting as a nameserver.

    ********************************************

    That should be it...


    __________________
    -/Steve

    Last edited by HostUSA.Biz on 01-16-2004 at 10:56 PM
     
Loading...

Share This Page