The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Park domain help urgent

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ullalla, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to park one domain under two accounts on the same server , is it possible?

    I tried to do this but it gave me error as :

    Error from park wrapper: domain name is owned by another user.


    Please any help is appreciated urgent

    Thanks :)
     
  2. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Run the following command from SSH as root:

    Code:
    grep "(domain)" /var/cpanel/users/*
    
    NOTE: replace (domain) with the domain name you are trying to add above!

    This should reveal to you which user already has the domain in question
    parked on their account as the filenames in /var/cpanel/users are
    the login names for the accounts.

    Go into the control panel for that user and try to remove the parked / addon domain

    If for some reason the domain does not appear in Cpanel for that user,
    you can manually remove the domain ...

    1. Edit the file returned from the grep command above and remove the
    "DNS=(domain)" line from the file

    2. Edit /etc/localdomains and /etc/trueuserdomains and remove (domain) from
    those files if it exists in there as well

    3. Change to /var/named folder and see if "(domain).db" file exists.
    If so, delete the file and edit /etc/named.conf and remove the
    section pertaining to (domain) and restart your DNS server.

    NOTE: Reminder you should replace (domain) with the domain you are
    trying to add in all the instructions above.

    You should now be able to add the domain to whatever account you wish
    as a new account, new parked domain, or new addon domain.
     
  4. jamez01

    jamez01 Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I have done all this, even before viewing this forum. I still receive the same error.

    Is there any where else the information may be stored?

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R10737
    CentOS 4.4 x86_64 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  5. LiNUxG0d

    LiNUxG0d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Here's something that nobody's mentionned. ;)

    If you've got a DNS cluster setup, make sure you disable the DNS cluster. Even if you take all the steps above, the DNS query to the Masters might cause a problem. I just ran into this and that was the last step I took which fixed it.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having the same problem, get this error:

     
  7. chazzle

    chazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :) Worked perfect for me!!! The domain name was even pointing to a different domain on my server. Thanks so much
     
  8. jeffrulz007

    jeffrulz007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also getting the error

    I have checked the cpanel users file, removed the entry from there, no entries in the DNS files, but still getting the same error.

    Error from park wrapper: domain owned by another user.
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Run /scripts/updateuserdomains for your changes to the cpanel users file to take effect.
     
  10. jeffrulz007

    jeffrulz007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did /scripts/updateuserdomains but that also didn't help.

    I can see the domains zone file when I take edit DNS zone in whm, but it is not there in 'delete dns zone' . There are no entries in the named.conf also no zone file in the /var/named directory.

    Is there any other files I need to check ?
     
  11. Webou

    Webou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This worked great for me, thank you :)
     
  12. MortenW

    MortenW Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I have the same problem; not able to remove a domain which is pointing to a subdomain. And the domain does not show up in cpanel.

    Trying the description in this thread, when I try to run /scripts/updateuserdomains
    I got this message:

    root@xyzname [/var/cpanel/users]# . /scripts/updateuserdomains
    -bash: BEGIN: command not found
    -bash: /scripts/updateuserdomains: line 15: syntax error near unexpected token `{'
    -bash: /scripts/updateuserdomains: line 15: ` if ( @ARGV && $ARGV[0] && $ARGV[0] !~ m/^--/ && -e $ARGV[0] ) {'
    root@xyzname [/var/cpanel/users]#
     
  13. jpetersen

    jpetersen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18

    This:

    should be this:

     
  14. MortenW

    MortenW Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Thank you, JPetersen!
    Typical me; sh <almost_everything>...
    Perfect! Then I was able to park the domain again, problem solved!

    Thanks again, JPetersen, Spiral and all others!
     
Loading...

Share This Page