The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parked / Addon domains & email address's dissapearing.

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by HH-Steven, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Today, i have updated 2 servers to the latest current release and they are now running WHM / cPanel Accelerated.

    After these updates most, if not all, (i havent checked all sites yet) have seen there addon/parked domains and there associated email address's removed from WHM & cPanel.

    The addon/parked domains are still working as they should but email address's no longer work until recreated.

    Also, i have recreated the lost email address's (on a parked domain) on a personal site, only to see them dissapear again a few hours later.

    This problem is only happening on the 2 servers i have updated (WHM 11.24.0) all other servers running WHM 11.23 are not having these issues so obviously something in the update is causing this.

    Any advice is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    Same issue also for us. We've updated 1 box to cPanel accelerated and all addons have disapeared from cPanel.

    Even changing to x2 will not resolve the issue as seen in previous cPanel build.
     
  3. Epademic

    Epademic Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We appear to be having the same issue, so far we have been alerted to just one account who's addon domains have gone missing, and mail for that account is not being delivered either.
     
  4. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also on servers running WHM 11.24 if the parked/addon domains and there respective email address's are recreated (due to the above issue) they dissapear again within a few hours.

    I have since downgraded these servers to 11.23 and once the parked/addon domains & email address's are recreated they stay there as normal.

    Obviously an issue with 11.24
     
  5. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    cPanel have check our server and did this to fix the addons domains:

    It did make the addons to be seen again but it did bring us an issue in the Email account where we have seen:
    We had to manually delete all DNS that were not good anymore in the /var/cpanel/users/user_name_here. To make it easier, it was addons that we removed in cPanel but seems to still be in /var/cpanel/users/user_name_here. Or maybe we just had to put an X before DNS to make it XDNS

    Regards,
     
    #5 chaloupe, Nov 3, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2008
  6. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    restoring to an earlier version did not fix the issue. We are now in the process of editing every username to removed the X before the DNS.. What a mess... :(
     
  7. Epademic

    Epademic Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the info.

    We have also found accounts that have XDNS in /var/cpanel/users/user_name, however its not happened to every account.

    One account that was affected, was not corrected by fixing /var/cpanel/users/user_name and running /scritps/updateuserdomains. We managed to get it working by removing the addon domain from within WHM (list subdomains -> Unpark) and then adding it back again.
     
  8. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    Just an update to our post.

    After fixing the XDNS in /var/cpanel/users/user_name,(manually edited 587 files) everything ran smoothly again but we still downgrade to 11.23.x just to keep our production server running smoothly.

    With v11.24, we have seen many improvement for the 24 hour period we had it and this is really the only issue we had for the XDNS instead of the DNS for active addons and subdomains.

    Please note that we have updated to 11.24 as we were looking for the low CPU usage of the new backup solution and it was working good.

    cPanel staff supported us very closely with our support ticket.

    Hope to see it in Release build soon! :)
     
  9. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello!

    Same issue here!
    So far only one client has complained about this.
    I fixed the xdns to dns and it resolved it.

    I did:

    replace XDNS DNS -- /var/cpanel/users/USERNAME
    /scripts/updateuserdomains
     
  10. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    Glad to hear that you have been able to resolve the issue without customers running away from your server! :)

    I would also suggest to try the Repair Mailboxes under WHM > Email > Repair Mailbox permissions as I have seen quite a large of mailboxes that was set wrong once we have repaired the XDNS issue. It may not be the case for you bust just tought I would let you know to verify it.

    Regards,
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We tracked down one scenario causing this issue and have resolved it in 11.24 builds 30943 and higher.
     
  12. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same server that was updated now had 5 clients with same issue
    about addon domains mail.

    2 accounts missing real mailboxes - mail not working but mail folders still there. I can recreate the mail boxes in cpanel.

    1 accounts dissapeared from cpanel - not there !?
    Still working http and home folder is there but mail down, no cpanel etc.
     
  13. velda

    velda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Addon domains are back - email addresses aren't

    We just updated to the latest on one server. The user who was affected now has her addon domains show up in cPanel again, but she's still missing the ability to add new email addresses for any domain but the main one.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. Mullen

    Mullen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sunderland, UK
    Fix

    I've had exactly the same problem but this just fixed it for me:

    /scripts/autorepair repair_xdns_entries

    Cheers,
    Dan
     
  15. ajishcheeran

    ajishcheeran Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have missing one.com and two.biz from mail section but it was in addon.

    The following worked with out any issue

    vi /var/cpanel/users/cpanelusername



    XDNS1=one.com
    XDNS2=two.biz

    Removed the above line

    created

    DNS3=one.com
    DNS4=two.biz

    If you have another DNS please change to next number

    For example
    DNS1=taa.com
    DNS2=goo.com

    So i give

    DNS3=one.com
    DNS4=two.biz

    Thanks
    Ajish
     
Loading...

Share This Page