The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parked domain questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimjoe, Feb 25, 2002.

  1. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    1) is there a way to view what domains are parked on the server, and which accounts they are parked to?

    2) is there a way to add mail for a parked account?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. jumpdomain

    jumpdomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I hope there will be... I submitted a feature request for this but haven't herd anything on it yet.
     
  3. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    would it work to park a domain and then SEPARATELY add an account for that parked domain (email only) and then forward the email to the main domain?
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That would work fine, yes.
     
  5. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    would it matter whether i set up the parked domain first or the email first?

    thanx
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You'd probably want to do the email first....
    otherwise you'll get an error about your httpd.conf, actually you might get this either way.

    This is tricky and might require some intervention from the administrator. ;) As far as I know there isn't an &install mail capabilities for a parked domain& as an option yet.

    Is a feature request in the works?
     
  7. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Would it possibly work to set up a Sub-domain instead of &parking& or creating a whole real account. That way there wouldn't be any additional resources used?

    1) If i set up a subdomain, would cpanel allow the same functions as other domains - like could i &redirect& or point it to the main domain?

    2) Could I redirect, but still have 1 catch-all mail account for the subdomain?

    Thanks!
     
  8. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You mean a subdomain such as a subdomain as CPanel and WHManager are concerned, that is &something.domain.com&... a third level domain, not a true root domain.

    Yes, you could redirect and have a catch-all, that is a simple configuration from the shell, but not something that WHmanager can spawn at this time.
     
  9. ehsan

    ehsan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    which files do we need to edit from root ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page