The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parked domain removal error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gallot, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. gallot

    gallot Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I have a parked domain, and it is working fine. However i decided to remove it but i got this error when trying so:

    **************
    Parked Domain Removal

    Error from park wrapper: Unable to find out which user owns the parked domain domainname.com.

    ***************


    Any idea?

    Thanks already.
     
  2. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    Check the file:
    /etc/userdomains

    The domain name must be listed there, if it isn't, then add the domain.
     
  3. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    running into this also.

    The domain IS listed in userdomains.
     
  4. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make sure the domain is listed in cPanel config file of your user:
    /var/cpanel/users/$USERNAME
     
  5. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a domain listed in both files that still can't be unparked.
     
  6. trinity1511

    trinity1511 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Solution

    The "solution" appears to be:

    1.- Delete the DNS zone of the parked domain
    2.- Repark the domain
    3.- Unpark the domain

    That should solve it.
     
  7. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I am having the same issue in WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R79. The needed domain entries are present /etc/userdomains and /var/cpanel/users/theuser. Something is screwy :confused:

    The suggestion by trinity1511 to delete the DNS zone, park again, then unpark did it for me too. Thanks for the advice :)
     
  8. jassi

    jassi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    delete parked domain entry manually from httpd.conf and then restart apache , it will resolve the issue.
     
  9. z|x

    z|x Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm kind of new at this.

    By deleting the DNS Zone, it should be done with the Domain Registrar right?
     
  10. z|x

    z|x Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok. Here's the problem that I'm facing.

    There was some error while I was unparking the domain a few days back. After that, it wasnt showing up as parked any more. But, now when I try to add the parked domain back, it doesnt seem to work. I get the error "Error from park wrapper: You do not own the domain.

    What do i do?
     
  11. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Don't really know what you're referring to, but you deleting the DNS zone in WHM has nothing to do with the Domain Registrar. It just means that the entries will be gone in your nameservers, so the the domain name won't resolve to anything. The dns entries at the registrar will still be there, pointing to your nameservers.
     
  12. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That did not solve the issue. But deleting dns zone and parking again then unparking did work :)
     
  13. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Check if there is a dns zone for it, if so, then delete it.
    Check if it is in /etc/userdomains
    if so, then delete that entry

    Check if it is in /var/cpanel/users/username
    (where username is the username of the account)

    if so, then delete that entry.

    Then try and park it again.
     
  14. pcsousa

    pcsousa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Deleting DNS zone for error domain using "Delete a DNS Zone" function @ WHM solved this issue for me @ all.
    First of this I've removed it manually from httpd.conf.

    Regards.
     
  15. Earendil

    Earendil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We're seeing this too on WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C117.
    Manual deletion isn't an option since it concerns about 300 domains..
     
  16. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I submitted a bug report http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5013 a few days ago. Cpanel staff tested and could not replicate the problem. The bug report is now closed.

    I understand that the Cpanel developers can do nothing about the problem if they cannot replicate it. But there is just to much of this going on for it not to be a bug :(

    If you are able to replicate the problem, then please re-open the bug report and post additional information. :)
     
  17. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'd recommend opening a ticket as qa will be able to get more info on the problem from your machine if it is a bug, and if its a local problem the techs should fix you up.
     
  18. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank youj for seconding that, which is what I recommended in my notes on the bug report.
     
  19. S-Combs

    S-Combs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If still needed, I had this problem before and the solution was provided here
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=50944

    This might help with some of the other problems above as well.
     
  20. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Thank you for the offer Nic and Kenneth. The problem with opening a ticket is that it may take a while before being looked at, whereas in reality one typically wants to unpark a domain now.

    I want to make a suggestion: Seeing that List Parked Domains is compiled from httpd.conf (or so it seems), would it not be a nice idea if the unpark script would fall back on the httpd.conf information if WHM is unable to determine the user otherwise?
     
    #20 Stefaans, Jan 20, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page