The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parked domain SPF and DKIM not working

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by rinkleton, Sep 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. rinkleton

    rinkleton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've parked a domain on an account, set up an email account for that parked domain. The main account has SPF and DKIM enabled and it looks like the proper DNS entries are there. But when I send mail from that account, it acts like SPF and DKIM are disabled.

    Example:

    SERVER 1
    Main IP 1.1.1.1
    Account set up example.com
    The DNS for example.com has records
    *.2 - CNAME - 2.example.com.
    2 - A - 2.2.2.2

    SERVER 2
    Main IP - 2.2.2.2
    Main account - example2.com
    Parked domain - example2.com.2.example.com
    Email account - sender@example2.com.2.example.com
    DNS for example2.com.2.example.com has records
    default._domainkey - TXT - "v=DKIM1....
    example2.com.2.example.com. - TXT "v=spf1....

    The website for example2.com.2.example.com pulls up fine. Adding the records to the DNS on server 1 makes it work. Is this a limitation of WHM ignoring the *.2 CNAME for SPF requests? Or is SPF required to always look in the penultimate domain's DNS for any records for subdomains?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you verify if those records are added to the DNS host for example.com?

    Thank you.
     
  3. rinkleton

    rinkleton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It does work if they are added to the DNS zone for example.com on server 1.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is required, as the remote mail servers will check for the records on the server defined as the DNS host for the parent domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  5. rinkleton

    rinkleton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got it to work.... I added NS records in the zone for example.com on server 1 to point to server 2... that seems to fix it.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page