Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Parked domains hosting landing page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Krasimir Vatchinsky, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. Krasimir Vatchinsky

    Krasimir Vatchinsky Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I'm having this problem recently after the latest WHM/cPanel version updates with the landing page i have on my server for hosted parked domains.

    Originally I designated a Host domain for that park hosting and set account in WHM/cPanel with landing page uploaded under cPanel account of the Host domain

    When I park the client domain to that Host account on WHM level, the parked domain after typing it in the url was continuing to display, so I used a javascript to get that and displayed in the web page with text, this is HOST domain server where the client domain (the actual domain name taken from the javascript from the typed URL) was displayed as well is parked.

    Now after the latest WHM/cPanel version updates, all parked domains are directly forwarded to the HOST domain or as described in the WHM/cPanel documentation:

    "
    A parked domain (or alias) is a secondary domain that points to the user’s primary domain. When users access the parked domain's website, the primary website displays instead.

    For example, cpanel.com is a parked domain that points to The Hosting Platform of Choice | cPanel, Inc.. When you access The Hosting Platform of Choice | cPanel, Inc., the The Hosting Platform of Choice | cPanel, Inc. website displays. "

    I don't want that. I need the entered parked domain in the url to continue to stay there even the page that is loaded will be the Host landing page, and I don't want to open account for every parked domain either.

    Could some one give me advise how that can be done, either through WHM/cPanel or .htaccess file?

    Thank you!
     
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could try and make them an Addon Domain, give them their own document root folder, do not redirect anywhere, and place your landing pages in that folder.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Krasimir Vatchinsky

    Krasimir Vatchinsky Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you rpvw, unfortunately that would be not very efficient in my case we are domain reseller, and host over 10 000 domains, the parked domains are very substantial number, the cost of maintaining multiple landing pages is not something Im looking for, the previous version of WHM/cPanel allowed when park domain in WHM to be able to display it on host domain page without forwarding. I do look for some work around most likely with .htaccess file I guess
     
  4. Krasimir Vatchinsky

    Krasimir Vatchinsky Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello everyone, I found solution by setting the following in .htaccess file, on the host domain account, now all is working fine:

    RewriteEngine On

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?(hostdomain)$
    RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-Forwarded-Proto} !https [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
    RewriteRule ^ https://%{HTTP_HOST} [L,R=301]

    Thank you!
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Krasimir Vatchinsky

    Thank you for providing the solution that worked for you. I'm glad to hear you were able to get your issue resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice