The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parked domains stop resolving after transfer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mfragoso, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. mfragoso

    mfragoso Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Recenly I moved domains from one server to another and the transfer went smooth, however I have noticed that parked domains are not resolving, only those created with the main account..
    I tested with nslookup and querying the parked domains and sends the domain could not be found error.
    I have verified that /var/cpanel/user/* have the correct IP= line
    Under List parked domains they show correctly
    Another test that I made is to add one domain to an account just to test and it adds it but it does not resolve. Obviously the account allows enought parking of domains.

    Those parked domains exist in named.conf as well as in /var/named/

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
    #1 mfragoso, Oct 22, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2005
  2. mfragoso

    mfragoso Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Found the problem, bugs that need to be fixed

    Somehow the newest version of whm have a variable in their zones template called %nsttl%
    This variable is initialized as root, in a brand new installation.
    I got a chance to see the errors while restarting bind from whm, saying something like: invalid RR root
    Basically you have to do the following
    replace root 86400 -- /var/named/*.db
    replace root 86400 -- /var/named/chroot/var/named/*.db
    service named restart

    Other bug is that when you transfer a user, somehow his account file on /var/cpanel/users/ keeps the old IP, and dns won't resolve. Again a replace fix this , but you have to consider that if you have transfered from server to server there will be other ips are well , so using a replace like the above change all the old ips to the new ones.
     
    #2 mfragoso, Oct 22, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2005
  3. xphost

    xphost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem with adding "root" in domain.com.db

    very angry :mad:
     
  4. MDurai

    MDurai Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've experiencing this issue also.

    But for the fix:

    When I tried replace root 86400 -- /var/named/chroot/var/named/*.db it did work for me as that location didnt exist and I got error code 2.

    Any other help?
     
  5. mfragoso

    mfragoso Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Chroot dir

    This was new for me, usually /var/named is the default directory but in this brand new installation, I noticed that changing that directory didnt reflect any changes and running a locate domain.db found that chroot directory over the default

    Maybe just running replace in the default directory and service named restart and service cpanel restart is enough for you
     
Loading...

Share This Page