The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parking domain on wildcard subdomain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hoseng, Feb 21, 2016.

  1. hoseng

    hoseng Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iran
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey guys. I have wildcard subdomain added to DNS zone as "*.domain.com".
    Now I have to park domain on this subdomain through API2. Also important to notice that I change the domains nameserver to proper one.

    Problem start to occur when I want to park a domain on wildcard subdomain and cpanel said "*.domain.com" is not a valid domain name as RFC said. Also when I park it on 'x.domain.com' where x is a virtual subdomain that refer to *, cpanel said the x is not in user data and he is correct.

    Now how I can park domains on wildcard subdomain?
    Any help will be appreciated
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Parked domains (aliases) do not support wildcard entries at this time. Could you add the new domain name as an addon domain name instead of a parked domain name and let us know if you experience the same problem?

    Thank you.
     
    hoseng likes this.
  3. hoseng

    hoseng Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iran
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello & Sorry for lateness
    I changed my method as you said, I mean first time I will set addon domain and for next requests I'll park it on a subdomain that was generated within addon process.
    Now everything is OK but I'm worried about huge count of subdomain will generated by addon process. Is this anxiety logical?
    Thanks in advance
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on this concern, or provide a specific example?

    Thank you.
     
  5. hoseng

    hoseng Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iran
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now I have a wildcard subdomain on my host where everyone can have their own url as sd.myhost.tls
    We want to allow users to point their own domain to this subdomain if they want.
    As you better know, if I set addon domain for specific subdomain (say test.domain.com) then test subdomain will be created automatically after setting addon.
    Now my anxiety is about subdomains that will be created by setting addon for something about thousand of wildcard subdomains.
    In other way my question is:
    Would these number of created subdomain have any affect on host performance in comparison to wildcard subdomain.
    If I'm not clear enough please let me know
    Thanks in advance
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would not expect degraded performance if it's only around 1,000 subdomains.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page