The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parking domains on top of subdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nu-steve, Jul 20, 2002.

  1. nu-steve

    nu-steve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    I read a thread earlier about parking a domain on top of a subdomain so that the new domain would work as a normal domain but access all the info out of a directory on a pre-existing domain.

    So I tried this and it seemed that WHM put the ServerAlias directive in the wrong place. It put it under the main domain rather than the subdomain's config file in httpd.conf.

    So instead of it going under the config file for like subdomain.test.com it just put it under test.com.

    It did create the dns zone correctly and everything, and just moving the ServerAlias directive from test.com to subdomain.test.com proved to work correctly, I was wondering if I was doing something wrong or if this is a bug and I should report it.
     
  2. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I've noticed the same problem. I'm gonna look and see if I can find a bug report on this..
     
  3. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I noticed that if you type in the sub.domain.com in the text box instead of selecting it from the list, it works correctly. However, resellers do not have that text box so it parks wrong for them.

    The problem seems to the that subdomains listed in the select box have the value of the domain instead of sub.domain.com.
     
  4. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems already reported..

    http://web.cpanel.net/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=589
    http://web.cpanel.net/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=608
     
  5. nu-steve

    nu-steve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for looking into it and the hack solution :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page