Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Parking subdomain on server hostname question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by vaxhax, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. vaxhax

    vaxhax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    referencing Tweak Settings - Domains - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    specifically:

    Allow users to park subdomains of the server's hostname

    This setting allows users to park subdomains on your server’s main domain.

    For example, if your server's main domain name is example.com, click On to redirect user.example.com visitors to that user’s website.

    This setting defaults to Off.

    --

    The way I read this, setting this to on should automagically create a dns entry for the subdomain. So if I had username : usernameA and my server hostname is : domainA I should click On to redirect usernameA.domainA.com to the usernameA website.

    In practice this does not happen, so I went in to the usernameA cpanel to attempt to park an alias as such and I get the following, sensible, error:

    There was an error when the system attempted to create the alias. Park::park(usernameA.domainA.com) failed: (XID c6uas6) The domain “usernameA.domainA.com” may not be created by “usernameA” because “domainA.com” is already owned by another user.

    --

    This makes sense, because domainA is the home domain of the reseller account under which usernameA was created.

    --

    SO, a) what is this setting actually allowing for since it doesn't do nor allow for what I'm trying and b) what's the solution to allowing parked subdomains on the reseller domain? I attempted creating an alias on the FQDN of the server (whm.domainA.com) and get the same error.

    Thank you!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @vaxhax,

    No automatic aliases or redirects are enabled when configuring this option in "WHM >> Tweak Settings". Instead, this feature controls whether cPanel users can create aliases with subdomain's of the server's hostname. For instance, let's say the server's hostname is:

    123.example.tld

    If "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname" is set to "On", then cPanel users can create the following alias:

    bob.123.example.tld

    If "Allow users to park subdomains of the server’s hostname" is set to "Off", then cPanel users will receive an error message when attempting to create an alias for bob.123.example.tld.

    I've created an internal case with our Documentation Team (DOC-8146) to update our documentation to better reflect how this option works.

    Thank you.
     
  3. vaxhax

    vaxhax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, @cPanelMichael . I did turn it on and still got the mentioned error due to the fact that the main domain on the server (fqdn) is owned by another user account, the reseller of the account making the alias. Is there somewhere I can specify a domain that is the "server's hostname" ?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you confirm if it's the server's hostname that's owned by a user, or if it's the domain name associated with the hostname that's owned by the user? You should not configure a hostname that a cPanel account on your server will use.

    Thank you.
     
  5. vaxhax

    vaxhax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The domain is owned by a user account, the FQDN / hostname of the server is whm.domain.com subdomain off that domain. This is not the best setup, but given the specialized nature of our install it will end up being fine.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's acceptable for "domain.com" to be owned by an account when the hostname is "whm.domain.com". In this case, I believe the option you are seeking is available under the "Domains" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings":

    Allow cPanel users to create subdomains across accounts

    Per the description:

    Allow cPanel users to create subdomains (including the creation of addon domains) of domains that other users own. The restriction does not apply to resellers in WHM. Enabling this is not recommended.


    Thank you.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page