The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

parse error opening phpMyAdmin

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Starhawk-cyberpixels, Apr 18, 2003.

  1. Starhawk-cyberpixels

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all,

    When trying to open phpMyAdmin on one of our cPanel servers, we get the following error:

    Parse error: parse error in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php on line 47


    I haven't run into this before - I tried running upcp hoping it would overwrite whatever the problem was, no luck unfortunately.

    Is there a quick fix for this? I didn't see anything in the /scripts folder that seemed appropriate.

    Is it wise to simply copy a working index.php file over from another cPanel server or would that break things?
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It shouldn't harm it copying it over, it cannot break it further :)

    You could copy it to index2.php then do a diff to see what is different

    # diff index.php index2.php
     
  3. Starhawk-cyberpixels

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just tried copying over the index.php file from a server where it is working properly.

    I'm still getting the same parse error on line 47.

    Following is the output from the 'diff' command suggested above... I don't know PHP so it's really Greek to me.

    Any suggestions would be wonderful; I'd love to know a way to rebuild phpMyAdmin.

    ----------------
    [/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin]# diff index.php index.OLD
    2,3c2
    < /* $Id: index.php,v 1.36 2003/01/08 13:50:27 nijel Exp $ */
    < // vim: expandtab sw=4 ts=4 sts=4:
    ---
    > /* $Id: index.php,v 1.21 2001/10/19 14:05:30 loic1 Exp $ */
    13c12
    < PMA_setFontSizes();
    ---
    > set_font_sizes();
    16d14
    < // loic1 - 2001/25/11: use the new globals arrays defined with php 4.1+
    18,21c16
    < if (!empty($_ENV) && isset($_ENV['HTTP_HOST'])) {
    < $HTTP_HOST = $_ENV['HTTP_HOST'];
    < }
    < else if (!empty($HTTP_ENV_VARS) && isset($HTTP_ENV_VARS['HTTP_HOST'])) {
    ---
    > if (!empty($HTTP_ENV_VARS) && isset($HTTP_ENV_VARS['HTTP_HOST'])) {
    36,43c31,33
    < // loic1: If left light mode -> urldecode the db name
    < if (isset($lightm_db)) {
    < $db = urldecode($lightm_db);
    < unset($lightm_db);
    < }
    < $url_query = PMA_generate_common_url(isset($db) ? $db : '');
    <
    < header('Content-Type: text/html; charset=' . $GLOBALS['charset']);
    ---
    > $url_query = 'lang=' . $lang
    > . '&amp;server=' . $server
    > . (empty($db) ? '' : '&amp;db=' . urlencode($db));
    45c35,36
    < <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Frameset//EN"
    ---
    > <!DOCTYPE html
    > PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Frameset//EN"
    47c38
    < <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $available_languages[$lang][2]; ?>" lang="<?php echo $available_languages[$lang][2]; ?>" dir="<?php echo $text_dir; ?>">
    ---
    > <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $available_languages[$lang][2]; ?>" lang="<?php echo $available_languages[$lang][2]; ?>">
    49,50c40
    < <title>phpMyAdmin <?php echo PMA_VERSION; ?> - <?php echo $HTTP_HOST; ?></title>
    < <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=<?php echo $GLOBALS['charset']; ?>" />
    ---
    > <title>phpMyAdmin <?php echo PHPMYADMIN_VERSION; ?> - <?php echo $HTTP_HOST; ?></title>
    58c48
    < <frameset cols="<?php echo $cfg['LeftWidth']; ?>,*" rows="*">
    ---
    > <frameset cols="<?php echo $cfgLeftWidth; ?>,*" rows="*">
    60c50
    < <frame src="<?php echo (empty($db)) ? 'main.php' : $cfg['DefaultTabDatabase']; ?>?<?php echo $url_query; ?>" name="phpmain" />
    ---
    > <frame src="<?php echo (empty($db)) ? 'main.php' : 'db_details.php'; ?>?<?php echo $url_query; ?>" name="phpmain" />
     
  4. robcyb

    robcyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there a central PHPMyAdmin login, as in for root Access etc?
     
  5. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No.
     
  6. robcyb

    robcyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Right, that's another thing I hate about Cpanel now, come back ensim!
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Since phpmyadmin is all selfcontained in one directory I would do the following.

    On a working server

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/3rdParty
    tar -cvf phpadmin.tar phpMyAdmin

    Then ftp that over to the broken server to the same path then do,

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/3rdParty
    mv phpMyAdmin phpMyAdmin.old
    tar -xvof phpadmin.tar
     
  8. Starhawk-cyberpixels

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did indeed just copy over the phpMyAdmin directory from a server where it was (and still is) working.

    I *still* get

    :Parse error: parse error in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php on line 47


    I had a look at line 47 - it was a blank line. I deleted the blank line. I still get a parse error at line 47. How can this be? Am I overlooking something that should be glaringly obvious?

    I also tried taking the text of a working index.php, putting it into Notepad as a Brand New File and uploading it manually to the server.

    Also ran /scripts/mysql just to see if it would fix anything, and restarted SQL service. Still no dice.
     
  9. Starhawk-cyberpixels

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fix for this:


    1. Replace the phpMyAdmin folder with a working folder from another machine.

    2. Run upcp!

    Madness, I say.
     
Loading...

Share This Page