The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Partitioning and a couple other new user questions

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by roskopfj, Feb 18, 2005.

1. roskopfj

roskopfj Member

Can anyone give me some advice on how to partition a new server that has 596GB useable disk space for cpanel? It will be running RedHat EL3 ES and has 2 x 3ghz cpu's and 4gigs of memory.

By default, which partition do the MySQL databases and web content get installed to? We're expecting up to several hundred domains and subdomains that could each consist of a MySQL database of up to 1gb, some web content and a bunch of email accounts accessed via squirrelmail.

I've never used cpanel before, so I don't know where it puts stuff by default. Also which antivirus and antispam programs for email are the easiest to integrate with cpanel, and will cpanel autoinstall any of them?

Should I install VNC and let RedHat EL3 install it's 3.x version of MySQL first? Unfortunately I'm not able to experiment with it in a test environment because the O/S is being installed in a NAT'ed environment, prior to sending it to where it's being co-located across the country, so I really need to get it right the first time, as it won't be easy to reformat and start over if I screw up the initial installation of cpanel.

Thanks

#1 roskopfj, Feb 18, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2005
  2. chirpy

chirpy Well-Known Member

Well, this isn't a recommendation, but it works for me:

The largest partition should be for your users websites and email data which is stored, by default, in /home

Next comes backups depending on how you're gong to store them, though it would be best to put them on a separate physical drive called /backup

Then, you're looking at MySQL data, server log files and cPanel user configuration data which is all stored in /var