The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Password Protect Directories" - forced to login twice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dlevens, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. dlevens

    dlevens Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I password protect a directory in cpanel I am prompted twice to login to that webpage, once for www.domain.com and then again for domain.com without the the www.

    If I instead come into the website using domain.com and leave off the www then I am only prompted to login once.

    What I want is to tell my host how to fix this so that if I come in from www.domain.com or domain.com that it only prompts me to login once. I had this same problem at my last host and they fixed it on their end but never told me what they did to fix it.

    I have a few password protected directories and none of them have any code in them that use www.domain.com or domain.com, they only use /relative links, so I assume the issue is not on my end. Many users leave off the www when going to the sites and some leave it on, which is confusing for them when they have to login twice sometimes and only once other times.

    Any help would be appreciated,

    Dennis
     
  2. qkslvr

    qkslvr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am currently having a similar problem. However I dont seem to get any different results with or without the www. in the domain.

    Any suggestions from people would be awesome- I am also investigating the problem.

    Update:
    I now am only getting the 403 error page in most browsers- I am not getting the usual login box. In addition I have cpanel upgraded to WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-S83 and my machine is a RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
    #2 qkslvr, Jul 30, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2005
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sometimes this happens when something on the page is linked through a http://path/to/image

    rather then

    /path/to/image

    Basically it needs to authenticate the image and the page.
     
  4. dlevens

    dlevens Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I thought the same thing, but I have checked numerous times, I have only two images on the site and every link is relative pathing with no http:// or www or domain.com mentioned at all.

    Dennis
     
  5. kobargh

    kobargh Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page