The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Password Protected directories kills website

Discussion in 'Security' started by beetlejuice, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I used the CPanel migration team to move some sites from my old server running Plesk to my new one running CPanel. A couple of sites are Ecommerce so I had a couple of critical directories password protected in Plesk and worked perfectly from the get go. Browse to the specific page and usernam and password box appeared.

    After the migration I noticed the password protected directories were'nt being invoked so checking through the user CPanel, I can see the original usernames still exist but the two directories were'nt protected. I selected one directory, hit save and now the site in Firefox comes up with:

    "Firefox has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this address in a way that will never complete.
    This problem can sometimes be caused by disabling or refusing to accept cookies"

    I untick the protected directory and access is again fine.

    Anyone have a clue where to start looking for the solution? I've read that this process in CPanel creates a .htaccess file and a htpwd.access file is this correct as this is not happening in my case. I already have an existing .htaccess file in place which I've even renamed to test if CPanel creates a new one and nothing happens.

    Thanks for any tips that may help

    regards
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you just remove any showing there and recreate it to test?
     
  3. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Interesting?

    I deleted the users that carried over with the migration and recreated them in Cpanel, same issue.

    Deleted the .htaccess file and wallah! popup prompt for user name & pwd. Trouble is I need that .htaccess file.
    Is there a workaround?

    Thanks for the tip
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What is different from your original htaccess and the one cPanel creates? Sounds like you've got is customized?
     
  5. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fixed it :eek:

    I'm a dufus.

    Helps if you read some of the notes inside the .htaccess. Specifically mentioned CPanel.

    I'm embarrassed, sorry to have troubled you unneccessarily.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great to hear that you have it figured out! :)

    Would you be able to provide how it was fixed?
     
  7. plasterandlathe

    plasterandlathe Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sounds like an .htaccess loop.Possibly a redirect to another directory on the same site can cause this issue e.g for some mobile sites hosted on the main domain this is a common problem.Using the .htaccess to redirect agents is a good idea,sounds a similar problem here but obviously not a mobile issue but a looping cycle.
     
Loading...

Share This Page