The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Password protected directories

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by griz, Apr 17, 2002.

  1. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    My password protect tool doesn't seem to work for any accounts. It is creating the passwd file in .passwds, and it is creating the .htaccess file, but the .htaccess file is blank.

    If I try to set up the .htaccess manually, then access that directory in a browser, I get a 500 error.

    This problem happens with directories with no FrontPage extensions and with FP extensions.

    I've also checked to see if it was a theme problem, but I encounter this problem with any and all themes.

    I'm hoping somebody here will have a clue as to how to fix this, as I'm completely out of clues.

    Thanks in advance,

    Griz
     
  2. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried /scripts/upcp this solves most problems.
     
  3. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    re:

    Just tried it and it didn't work.
     
  4. LongIsland

    LongIsland Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Password Protected Directories cannot Work with FrontPage

    I now also get an error message when I try to create a Password Protected Directory in cPanel.

    Warning:
    Due to Frontpage Extensions currently being installed and enabled, password protected directories will not work. If you wish to use this feature instead of Frontpage, please disable the Frontpage extensions.

    You can use Frontpage directly to create password protected directories just like you normally can here. Alternatively, you can disable frontpage extensions and still use Frontpage to publish the site design via Webdav or FTP.

    Can anyone help with this?
     
  5. SuperTwinMgmt

    SuperTwinMgmt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    are the permissons correct for your .htaccess and .htpasswd files? What error does the httpd error log say when you try to visit the protected page or folder. You may also want to check the domains specific dom log file too and comb for errors.
     
  6. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Did you manage to fix this?
    I have a user that can not password protect directories due to this error message and the FP extensions are not even installed.
     
  7. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would REALLY like to disable this so called new feature. If you know what you are doing you can password product directories under FP with no issue. I can not believe they locked this out if FP is installed.

    Anyone know if there is an option to remove this??

    Thanks
     
  8. craigedmonds

    craigedmonds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    anyone solved this yet?

    I am having the same issue with a client on one of my servers.

    She is running frontpage extensions and cannot password protect directories.

    She has to uninstall frontpage extensions and then password protect via cpanel.

    If anyone knows the workaround, then please let us know!

    Ta.
     
  9. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You will need to update the .htaccess file manually and create the password file if you want to do it without removing FP.

    I was hoping this option could be OVERRIDEN but have not found out a way yet.
     
  10. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It is very broken now

    well this is a new "feature" and IT IS VERY UNWELCOME

    we have a few clients with password protected dir's and this change makes all but impossible to manage through the cPanel user interface.

    Come on peeps, lets see a proper fix for this.. ASAP



    Anyone else have a workable workaround yet?
     
  11. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am having the same problem with a few clients. Had not problems with clients using web protect or passworded directories and frontpage, now all the sudden it is disabled. Looks like a fix for a problem that didn't exist.
     
  12. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    BROKE the Password Protect

    If nothing else, LEAVE the change BUT allow us to OVERRIDE it in the WHM configuration. That way we can either allow or not allow the function for accounts with FP Extentions loaded.

    This was a MAJOR screw up on the part of cPANEL to assume disable is a fix to an issue some where having.

    When will this get corrected? If you notice cPANEL servers do not even have the command line to do this manually.... or at least mine doesn't and I have root.

    Thanks cPANEL!
     
  13. wzd

    wzd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Fix yet?

    Just encountered this problem ourselves. Any fix yet for this matter?
     
  14. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I believe this issue was resolved in an update several months ago. I recommend asking our technical analysts to take a closer look to see what is causing this issue on your server(s). You can contact them using the ticket link at the bottom of this post.
     
    #14 cPanelDavidG, Sep 17, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  15. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried this just last week and had to remove FP extensions, make the change and add FP back. I have never had an issue until cPanel felt the need to change this to restrict. This should be able to be turned off and if nothing else give a warning instead.
     
  16. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, so this is an issue of FrontPage extensions being enabled and then you want to use functionality that modifies .htaccess?
     
  17. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    100% correct... It worked PERFECT in the past, then cPANEL removes the ability. We never had a single problem with it. A number of people has asked that this feature can be disabled in the Tweak options at the ROOT WHM level
     
  18. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same issue here on 8 server

    In Cpanel Not possible to overwrite password for user on protected directory

    Frontpage extension not installed

    ??
     
  19. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    password --REDACTED-- not work

    password --REDACTED--

    ????
     
    #19 webstyler, Sep 23, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2009
  20. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you really mean to post passwords here? You might want to edit that post.
     
    #20 jdstallings, Sep 23, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page