The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Password Strength BUG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jandafields, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would post this in bugzilla, but it says my account no longer has access to enter new bugs. So, here it is:

    Create a new FTP account (or probably anywhere that a password is entered). Many times, it will return an error that the password is too weak, ALTHOUGH the strength meter shows it way above the required mark.

    This password shows 100 on the meter:
    abcdef987654320

    However, when you submit it, it says:

    Sorry, the password you selected cannot be used because it is too weak and would be too easy to crack. Please select a password with strength rating of 65 or higher.

    So, there must be 2 different password strength algo's... 1 for the meter, and 1 for the actual submission.

    Has anyone else run across this problem?

    By the way, this is on CURRENT.
     
    #1 jandafields, Oct 1, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is not a problem in 11.25+
     
  3. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, what causes a bugzilla.cpanel.net account to lose access to create new reports?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is a new message up on bugzilla you may have missed.



     
  5. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The question is, is 11.25 out already?
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    11.25 is available in EDGE and CURRENT.
     
  7. stormchaser

    stormchaser Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Sorry to dredge up a month old thread, but I am having this problem on 2 servers, both running cPanel 11.25.0-C40255 - WHM 11.25.0

    and didn't find a resolution on searching the forum here.

    Thanks.
     
  8. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There must still be some differences between the algorythm in the meter and the actual function...
     
Loading...

Share This Page