Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Performance( load ) problem...Urgent...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by evolver, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. evolver

    evolver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello,

    My server load always ( every night,every day,every hour ) up to 10.00+ ... This is a very big problem :(

    I've type top command and always I see mysql and httpd processes.

    For example;
    #uptime
    Please help me , How can I solve this problem?

    Hardware and Software;
    Pentium4 2.4 Ghz
    1GB Ram
    RedHat 9
    cpanel/whm 8.8.0 S74


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    I'd do the following:

    1. Optomize /etc/my.cnf
    2. Optomize httpd.conf
    3. If needed add more RAM
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. evolver

    evolver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello,

    /etc/my.cnf
    in httpd.conf
    What is wrong of this configs?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Is this server for virtual hosting or for a single or just a couple of high usage sites? Also, are you running mysql 3 or 4 ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. evolver

    evolver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello,

    Server for our virtual hosting customer's...Only 1 account have too much visitors...

    PHP 4.3.4 ( with Zend Opt. )
    mySQL 4.0.15 -standart
    Apache 1.3.29

    Are httpd.conf and my.cnf wrong values?

    Thanks again..
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Yeah some of the values are a bit to high for what your serving. Here is what I have on a P4 2..4 w/ 1 GB ram:

    Make sure you back up your current my.cnf just in case, but this should do you fine.

    Code:
    [mysqld]
    skip-locking
    skip-innodb
    query_cache_limit=1M
    query_cache_size=32M
    query_cache_type=1
    max_user_connections=45
    max_connections=500
    interactive_timeout=100
    wait_timeout=100
    connect_timeout=10
    thread_cache_size=128
    key_buffer=16M
    join_buffer=1M
    max_allowed_packet=16M
    table_cache=1024
    record_buffer=1M
    sort_buffer_size=1024K
    read_buffer_size=1024K
    max_connect_errors=10
    read_rnd_buffer_size=1024K
    # Don't change thread conc. below unless you have 2 cpu's
    thread_concurrency=2
    myisam_sort_buffer_size=32M
    
    [safe_mysqld]
    open_files_limit=8192
    
    [mysqldump]
    quick
    max_allowed_packet=16M
    
    [mysql]
    no-auto-rehash
    
    [isamchk]
    key_buffer=32M
    sort_buffer=32M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M
    
    [myisamchk]
    key_buffer=32M
    sort_buffer=32M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M
    
    [mysqlhotcopy]
    interactive-timeout
    
    
    Restart mysql
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Now, if the above works, i'd consider changing the following values:

    Before:

    Timeout 300
    KeepAlive off
    KeepAliveTimeout 15
    MaxClients 150
    MaxRequestsPerChild 0

    After:

    Timeout 300
    KeepAlive on
    KeepAliveTimeout 10
    MaxClients 150
    MaxRequestsPerChild 0

    This might increase the load a slight bit, but will help pages load a lot smoother for the visitor.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. evolver

    evolver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    once thank you iminteractive...
    I'll try this configs...


    thank you again...
     
  9. evolver

    evolver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi again,

    I would like to learn something about my server load problem...It is always over load average: 10.89, 10.47, 10.76...How can I prevent this?

    Note: We take daily backup , Can these affect my problem? How can I take bakcups on the evenings?

    Because over evening server loads always 0,25 - 1.50 ...

    finally are zombies processes harmfull for to my server load ?


    Thank you...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice