The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Perl version changed.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cweb, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. cweb

    cweb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi ,

    I have had this on a couple of servers overnight. Sometime ago we ran the perl upgrade to version 5.8.5 this went well and all was good. However last night the servers have reverted back to 5.8.0 This has caused MailScanner to no longer process mail.

    I am now upgrading perl to 5.8.8 and once complete mailscanner begins to function again. What I have not yet found out is why perl reverted back to version 5.8.0?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You probably don't have perl* disabled in your OS update configuration (up2date or yum) and the OS is "downgrading" it to the OS vendor supplied version.
     
  3. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    This just happened to me as well on a bunch of servers.
    upcp is overwriting yum.conf and it is removing perl* from the conf file.
     
  4. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    It seems this is a result of having "Allow Perl updates from RPM based linux vendors" checked.
     
  5. JC

    JC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Happened to me on 5 boxes.
    But i'ts strange. I don't recall this behaviour ever in the past :-(
     
  6. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    so do we do what it suggests in the email i got sent by my nice server? along with the comments about not being able to find OSCAR...?:confused:

     
  7. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    I had the same issue this morning with Perl being downgraded to 5.8.5 on many of our servers.

    How/Where do we make sure it doesn't happen again? In Update Config?

    Using CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686

    Best Regards,
     
  8. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Happened to every single box we have running CentOS4 :(
     
  9. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Although disabling this option might not be necessary, login to the WHM >> Configuration >> Tweak Settings and de-activate this option:
    Allow Perl updates from RPM based linux vendors

    You also need to add perl* to the exclude services in up2date and yum.conf
     
    #9 AndyReed, Nov 9, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  10. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    Thanks for the info on the yum.conf :)
     
  11. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    See I'm pretty sure perl was excluded from yum before, but I may be wrong.
     
  12. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    If you uncheck "Allow Perl updates from RPM based linux vendors", next time upcp runs, it will add perl* to the exclude list


    I believe this is one those things that has been broken in cpanel forever and all of a sudden it gets fixed and catches everyone by surprise.

    I am too pretty sure perl* was on my exclude list in yum.conf.
     
  13. tkerns

    tkerns Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had this same thing happen to me. After updating perl to 5.8.8, and doing a upcp --force, cpanel will not start.

    I try service cpanel restart, and it all appears to start just fine, but I cannot get into whm.

    Did anybody else have this problem ? I am running cpanel 11 release on a Cent OS box.

    Thanks.

    Tom
     
  14. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    i followed the instructions in the email the server sent me and it worked a treat, albeit took a while.

    will try the perl exlude thing later/
     
  15. tkerns

    tkerns Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I followed those instructions, and it did not work... but after messing with it a while, we ran it again, and that time it 'took'
    Cpanel is up and happy again.

    I looked in tweak settings, and that checkbox is unchecked.
    II checked in /etc/yum.conf, and perl* is in the exclude list.
    Where is up2date? is that something else that needs to have perl* in the exclude list?
     
  16. rudedog

    rudedog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How long should reinstalling the bundle you created take? mine has been running for about an hour now.

    Thanks in advance.
     
Loading...

Share This Page