Permanent wildcard redirect: Safe to delete old content?

mobcdi

Well-Known Member
Jul 13, 2009
109
0
66
I have an account on 1 host with a permanent wildcard redirect to another host and was wondering if I can delete the content (home folder and db's) from the old account without affecting the redirects to clean things up

Does the old content need to be available for the redirect to work or does it intercept any request to old site and forward it to new site after modifying the domain without hitting the old content?

Are there any files in webroot I shouldn't delete to avoid breaking the redirect?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,884
2,250
463
Hello :)

The primary file to leave in place is:

.htaccess

This is the file the redirect rules are added to. You can safely remove the other files, however I suggest backing up the data beforehand just in-case.

Thank you.