Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

"Permission denied" on executables

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by M001, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. M001

    M001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have a "dns only" server and I would like to run another process on it, but it seems there is some type of protection on it and I can't execute anything. I tried to run "./configure" and I got "permission denied", even after doing chmod 777. So I did "sh configure" and that ran but then failed because of another permission denied error. Is there some kind of protection against executables?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Are you logged in as "root" via SSH? The access level in your profile suggests you only have reseller access to the server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. M001

    M001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, I should have said that earlier. Yes, I am root via SSH. I am not sure why my profile says reseller access or how to change it.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's no restrictions on a cPanel DNS-Only installation that's different than a standard cPanel installation as far as the command-line environment. Are there any additional details beyond a simple "permission denied" error message? What type of application are you attempting to install?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. M001

    M001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nevermind! I am trying to install 'dante' and I usually install things out of the /tmp folder but I just noticed /tmp is mounted with 'noexec'
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am happy to see you were able to determine the cause of the issue. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice