The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Permission Errors

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TitaniumHosting, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hello,

    I am administrator of TitaniumHosting and tonight, I suspended an account. After maybe 30 minutes, I unsusoended it and since then, the user is receiving permission error when he tries to view his site. He can access his cPanel ok but not his site. Can anyone tell me how to fix this?

    To get an idea of what I mean: http://davids-site.titaniumhosting.com/

    Thank you.
     
  2. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    What's in your user's public_html folder? Also have you reconfigured Apache to not show directory index?
     
  3. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi. I am new to this. How do I reconfiger apache? Also, it's a reseller account I have so I only have access to WHM.
     
  4. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi.

    This is what's in his Public_HTML:

    Up one level
    WysiwygPro 755
    cgi-bin 755
    david 755
    Create New File
    .htaccess
     
  5. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Looks like he dosen't have any files in his public_html... have a look in his home directory (i.e. /home/user) and see if a homedir folder exists, or if his files were moved elsewhere.
     
  6. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Upload a test index.html page and see if that's visible from http. Looks like Directory Index is configured to be switched off in apache.

    Anup
     
  7. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi.

    In his file manager, these are the directories that exists:

    / (Current Folder)
    Create New Folder
    Upload file(s)
    .fantasticodata 755
    .htpasswds 755
    .neomail 700
    .trash 700
    mail 750
    public_html 750
    tmp 700
    www 755
    Create New File
    .contactemail 0 k 600
    .lastlogin 0 k 600
    .spamkey 0 k 600

    In his /www/ directory, there is a copy of the folder /david/

    That's it.

    I appreciate your help. :)
     
  8. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    As anup123 says, try putting in a dummy index.html file in /home/david/public_html
    and then testing to see if you still get HTTP 403 errors from his website.
     
  9. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hello,

    Yes, still getting the error page.
     
  10. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hmm... now sounding like permissions as well. I'd check that apache process can access folders (o=x on /home/david and /home/david/public_html, and u=r,g=r,o=r on index.html)
     
  11. TitaniumHosting

    TitaniumHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland

    LMAO. That's it. He had the permissions for Public HTML at 722 when it should have been 755. Ok I am tired. :D

    Thank you so much.
    Best regards and have a great Christmas. :)
     
  12. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No problems. Glad to help :)
     
  13. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    as root on shell type:

    chmod 755 /home/david/public_html

    also do

    /scripts/fixwwwdir

    /scripts/fixcommonproblems

    and try.
     
  14. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    oh.. iam sorry :) looks like i was abit late to post.
     
  15. Roy@ENHOST

    Roy@ENHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles California
    sorry for bumping this thread....

    isnt public_html supposed to be chmodded 750?

     
Loading...

Share This Page