jimmyc

Registered
Jan 3, 2007
2
0
151
When I create an account in whm I get the following message referencing users I have not created that are not associated with any of my domains

Please advise with any insights you may have.

Thanks,
Jimmyc

--------------------------------------------------

Updating ftp passwords for all users
Warning: Unable to determine satprep's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine beyond's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine mdc1956's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine secret's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine xplicit1's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine poonan's main domain. Skipping vhosts password update for this user.
Ftp password files updated.
Ftp vhost passwords synced
 

chirpy

Well-Known Member
Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
13,465
30
473
Go on, have a guess
Looks like you have orphaned accounts. You could try:

/scripts/ftpup --force

If that doesn't help, you're probably going to need to go through /etc/proftpd/* and remove them manually (pure-ftpd and proftpd use those files IIRC).
 

ianmarie

Well-Known Member
Mar 27, 2006
56
0
156
Opposite issue

Hi all

Just on this issue, mine seems to be the opposite, in that the same warnings refer to users that still all (should!) exist. (and their home directories etc all DO exist)

I moved these domains to another server the other day, but went to delete the old accounts today, and none of them seem to exist in cpanel any more, but get the warning above for each of the domains / users which should still all exist when eg removing another existing user, or doing an ftp password sync.

The only other thing which was done after moving the domains was manually editing the /etc/localdomains and /etc/remotedomains file to reflect the fact of the domain moves - ie for mail delivery. I would hardly have though this would in some way unsync the cpanel user database?

Is there any easy way to resync the cpanel user database to bring these users back into cpanel for deletion?

Ian
 
Last edited: