The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Php 4.3.7

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by r3diensten, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. r3diensten

    r3diensten Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rossum, Overijssel, Netherlands
    When is PHP 4.3.7. supported? 4.3.6 is still in testing fase... :(
     
  2. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well.. this is a maintanence release, which is always good to keep updated.

    I would certainly remove the 4.3.5 out as that was quickly released and patched to the 4.3.6.
    Also, if 4.3.6 and 4.3.7 are same but just updated with maintanence releases.. and since 4.3.6 was in a 'testing' mode, .. I'd throw it out as well and just keep the

    4.3.4
    4.3.7 (fresh and hot outta the oven - still testing)

    also,. do you really want to tell me that there are people out there who are still using versions:

    4.2.3
    4.3.2

    using AND still need it pulled into Apache?
    I find it hard to belive that.
    So,.. why not call it off and remove them from the list?

    -Alon
     
  3. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Php Module (Version 4.3.3)

    Version 4.2.3
    Version 4.3.2
    Version 4.3.3
    Version 4.3.4
    Version 4.3.5
    Version 4.3.6
    Version 4.3.7

    Well.,, that's half way., but I'm happy :)).

    One quick question still hanging:

    What is the 'Php Module (Version 4.3.3)'?

    Do I select it AND the Version 4.3.7 ??
    or just Version 4.3.7?
    This is confusing. Don't you think?

    -Alon.
     
  4. Funkworkz

    Funkworkz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wanamingo, MN
    You unselect the previous PHP version, and then select PHP 4.3.7 :)
     
  5. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Perhaps I wasn't clear enough:

    [X]Php Module (Version 4.3.3)

    [ ] Version 4.2.3
    [ ] Version 4.3.2
    [X] Version 4.3.3
    [ ] Version 4.3.4
    [ ] Version 4.3.5
    [ ] Version 4.3.6
    [ ] Version 4.3.7

    ==============================


    [X]Php Module (Version 4.3.3)

    [ ] Version 4.2.3
    [ ] Version 4.3.2
    [ ] Version 4.3.3
    [ ] Version 4.3.4
    [ ] Version 4.3.5
    [ ] Version 4.3.6
    [X] Version 4.3.7

    ===============================

    [X]Php Module (Version 4.3.3) <<=- notice it says here 4.3.3. Why? do I keep this one selected or not?
     
  6. Funkworkz

    Funkworkz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wanamingo, MN
    Yea, that shows that you actually have PHP Installed. Im not sure why they have (4.3.3) there, go figure.

    But anyway, Yea keep that selected (PHP Module (Version 4.3.3)) and check 4.3.7. :)
     
  7. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks,

    that makes it easier :)

    -Alon.
     
  8. F Brown

    F Brown Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried the 4.3.7 option, but all that managed to do was cause build apache to sit there doing nothing for 40 minutes, requiring a server reboot because the process would not allow itself to be killed.
     
  9. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the heads up on this.
    I'll hold off that upgrade then.
    I was scheduled to do the apapchebuild on Sat 4AM and thought I'd go for the 4.3.7 (currently at 4.3.4).
    I'll stay with the 4.3.4 for the time being then.

    Thanks!

    -Alon.
     
  10. Funkworkz

    Funkworkz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wanamingo, MN
    I didnt have any problems when upgrading my server this morning, strange.
     
  11. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just ran the update and attempted to go the extra mile with 4.3.7 still.. and.....

    The build was success,. but the run failed.
    Since you all know YOU MUST BACKUP YOUR httpd.conf BEFORE you run the buildapache,. I recovered the httpd.conf back and NO PROBLEM!
    Worked just fine!
    And now I even have a new Icon in the WHM in the Apache Security / Version table under the WHM news: PHP suexec 0.1b .

    If you failed in your COMPILE,... it is very likely that you were disconnected during the process. It happen to me a while back.

    If you failed after your compile and the server status is not working for you,. bring back your httpd.conf the one YOU KNOW YOU SHOULD BACKUP BEFORE YOU REBUILD APACHE.

    That should resolve the problem (hopefully).

    -Alon.
     
  12. WCW Fan

    WCW Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    any get mmcache to work, I'm having a problem :S
     
  13. stftk14

    stftk14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm running 4.3.7 with mmcache. PM me and I can help you get it working.
     
  14. kb9tyc

    kb9tyc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just upgraded to 4.3.7 without problems. I am also using Zend optimizer.
     
  15. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ive just upgraded 6 servers to 4.3.7 and only 4 of them will upgrade to it...

    the other 2 will only update to 4.3.5

    anyone know how i can force them to update???

    I was using WHM's easyapache setup on the latest R release
     
  16. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried to use the WHM Update Apache (the graphical version?).

    If I recall correctly 4.3.5 had a bug in it and that is why 4.3.6 came nearly about a week after.

    If you use the graphical version I think you are forcing easyapache to d/l the latest version of easyapache and then the install starts.

    -Alon.
     
  17. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    on both servers that im having trouble with easyapache is going thru the motions of downloading and installing 4.3.7 but then once apache restarts whm is still showing the old versions...

    and i am using the WHM's easyapache
     
  18. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /usr/local/apache/conf/

    I have a file called: php.version

    Try to delete it. (well rename it to something else).
    I don't know what is the function of this file, but in it, it used to have the value of 4.3.4 before the build and now it has 4.3.7.
    Perhaps it is drawing some info out of it.
    Change the value in it and restart apache.
    Rname it ... and do a rebuild and see if this file is being recreated and with the new 4.3.7 value.


    Are you running : info.php
    <html>
    <body>
    <?php

    phpinfo();

    ?>
    </body>
    </html>

    and seeing the incorrect version?

    -Alon.
     
  19. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just tried to rebuild apache with php 4.3.7 from WHM.

    I checked 4.3.7 in WHM, but I'm still at 4.3.4
    I didn't see 4.3.7 being installed either during the apache rebuilding.
     
    #19 jamesbond, Jun 6, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2004
  20. Lizardsoft

    Lizardsoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Having same problem here. Removing php.version doesn't change phpinfo() output. This is very disturbing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page