The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP 5.0.0 Final

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by timdorr, Jul 13, 2004.

  1. timdorr

    timdorr Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    and yet somehow I feel the same now as I did 5 minutes ago. :p
     
  3. wiresix

    wiresix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when will easyapache compile it ;)
     
  4. qwerty

    qwerty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    More importantly, PHP 4.3.8 is out too and it's a security release. I hope Nick's busy testing that right now
     
  5. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA

    I totally agree.
     
  6. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Both are in easyapache now =)
     
  7. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    and i say dont bother trying to compile php 5.0.0 as i just tried twice and it wont compile because layer1's copy of libxml or whatever is too old. then i tried with an updated copy of libxml and it says cant find libxml blah blah.
     
  8. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    4.3.8 is working great atleast :)
     
  9. DJ_Max

    DJ_Max Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago, IL- USA
    Dang, thats too bad, I guess I have to wait til cPanel fixes this. For the most part I've been using PHP5 RC versions on another server. It has tons of features, and is more powerful then 4.
     
  10. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Have you experienced any errors with 'old scripts' when running on PHP 5?
     
  11. DJ_Max

    DJ_Max Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago, IL- USA
    Not with any of my scripts, as I never used the long arrays, like $HTTP_POST_VARS, instead i use $_POST, and so on.

    The only way i could see you having problems, is by default, PHP5 has long arrays set to OFF. So $HTTP_POST_VARS, $HTTP_GET_VARS, $HTTP_SERVER_VARS, etc.. won't work. Unless you go into the php.ini and set it to ON.

    But for the most part, ever since RC versions, scripts like phpBB have gotten around this, and still have support for PHP3, as thats the only reason some scripts still use long arrays.
     
  12. Atrus

    Atrus Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sooo, does cPanel work comfortably with PHP5?
     
  13. r2d3

    r2d3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    php5 killed httpd

    I just updated to PHP5 on my dev box and one production server and had no trouble at all but then tried the next production box and apache now won't start.

    using easyapache i get:

    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.

    22418 22413

    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    ./build install
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.

    22453 22448

    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

    If i try to kill all the http processes and then restart with httpd restart i get no decent error messages. It looks like it started but didn't.

    [Wed Jul 14 18:42:06 2004] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.xx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/init.d/httpd start: httpd started

    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd not running, trying to start
    [Wed Jul 14 18:41:53 2004] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.xx.xxx.xxx:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd started

    Not sure if the no virtualhosts warning could be the problem. I have tried to revert to PHP 4.3.8 but httpd still won't start with the same error.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  14. r2d3

    r2d3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    The problem is definitely not the "has no virtual hosts" warning because i have just corrected that (it was just a bad line in the httpd.conf) But appache still won't start :-(

    I have recompiled apache with the easyapache script and PHP 4.3.8 but no luck:

    service httpd restart
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd restarted

    Before i upgarded to PHP5 everything was all working fine.

    I am a very unhappy guy right now. Anyone have any advice?
     
  15. DJ_Max

    DJ_Max Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago, IL- USA
  16. r2d3

    r2d3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    thanks thaphantom :)
     
  17. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    does 2.6.11 of libxml2 work?

    Edit: yes it does :)

    thaphantom, update your how to so it uses 2.6.11 because 2.6.0 is a little old :)
     
    #17 Sinewy, Jul 14, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2004
  18. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    now with php 5 i cant start apache!!.
     
  19. pyrosols

    pyrosols Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apache will not start after php5 install

    I upgraded to php5 and apache stopped working.. 'Apparently' the old php4 module can not co-exist with the new php5 module.

    If you have similar circumstances I suggest the following:

    -Edit you httpd.con file

    pico /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    - Find the line "LoadModule php4_module libexec/libphp4.so" and comment it out by putting a # sign infront of it or just delete it.

    - Find the line "AddModule mod_php4.c" and comment it out by putting a # sign infront of it or just delete it.

    - Restart Apache

    service httpd restart

    Thats not the exact sequence of steps I followed but it should work. I have php 5 up and running now.
     
  20. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i just came on to post that :P

    Anyway is anyone else seeing "PHP version 4.3.8 " in their cPanels even though in SSH when you do a php -v it shows 5.0.0?
     
Loading...

Share This Page