The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Php 5?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by whizard, May 12, 2005.

  1. whizard

    whizard Registered

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was just wondering if anyone knew when CPanel would adopt PHP 5.


    Dan
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No idea, but you can use it now under beta testing through WHM.
     
  3. Zachery

    Zachery Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    not somthing I can personally recomend, if you are going to, do a manuall compile and add .php5 as a proper extention and run your php 5 scripts as .php5
     
  4. ZapX.net

    ZapX.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sidman, PA
    We've been running PHP5 for about 2 months now without any problems. there was one problem recently regarding mysql and mysqli, but someone posted a fix for it somewhere around here. And it worked :)
     
  5. Zachery

    Zachery Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not saying it doesn't work.

    But if anyone is hosting phpBB forums, they are going to go down, phpBB 2 does not nativly support php5.

    also I don't think ubb.threads does either..
     
  6. Berbox

    Berbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    I saw that the expirimantal quote by PHP5 in Apache update/easyapache is disapeared now.

    Is PHP5 now fully supported by cpanel??
     
  7. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I saw a post regarding PHP 5 and cPanel. I beleive it was cpanelbilly ( http://forums.cpanel.net/showpost.php?p=185929&postcount=6 ) that cPanel supports PHP 5, but the reason of it still listed as BETA is because it will break many users scripts ( PHP 4 and below ) as many things are deperciated and removed from PHP 5 that would work in PHP 4.
     
    #7 RAIS2, May 22, 2005
    Last edited: May 22, 2005
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Interesting. I would imagine that since it works fine from a cPanel perspective it's OK as script compatibility isn't their responsibility.
     
  9. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    So assuming that is the case then you might want to scale back cPanel to get rid of any script installers as well as disable or not install fantastico if you want to avoid many headaches on a php5 installed server?

    Would that be a safe assumption?
     
  10. ZapX.net

    ZapX.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sidman, PA
    Actually, many of the scripts do work with PHP 5, so I did not remove them from CPanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page