The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php 7 and php 7.1 running with php 5.6

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by digitaliway, Jan 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. digitaliway

    digitaliway Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am running WHM 60.35 with cloud linux and easy apache 4.

    when running easy apache 4 I have php 5.5 and 5.6 running but I see 7.0 and 7.1 available to install but not currently installed. I would like to start testing php7 for certain sites by selectively enabling but I do not want to break existing sites or cause a bunch of work / performance loss getting both version to function so I am seeking advice.

    THREE QUESTIONS:

    1.) can I enable via Easy Apache 4 - php 7.0 and 7.1 while keeping 5.5 and 5.6 for old sites?


    2.) do I need to enable php 7.0 if I just enable 7.1 is 7.1 backward compatible to 7.0


    3.) if this is all possible to run 5.6 and 7.0 as select-able versions is there a performance loos on the server in doing this?
     
  2. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,
    1> Yes, EA4 nativally supports multiple PHP verisons, so you can keep those sites on PHP 56 and run PHP 70 && PHP71 on different sites.
     
  3. digitaliway

    digitaliway Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks for the reply. Do you have PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.0 running in your environment? if so did you have any quarks/issues that you had to work through?


    do you know of any increased server load or performance issues with running both php 5.6 and php7.0 side by side?
     
  4. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Howdy,

    I have PHP54, PHP55, PHP56, PHP70 and PHP71 available on my personal machine, available to all of the clients (friends) on my system. There are no performance issues with running multiple PHP versions. If a script didn't work on a PHP version, I researched the available requirements for the script and adjusted it to the use proper PHP version in the MultiPHP Manager in cPanel. Easy peasy.

    I hope this helps!
     
  5. caisc

    caisc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dont know why cpanel is working on multiple PHP versions system when there is already Cloudlinux for this purpose.
    Also Cloudlinux is your close partner, whats the benefit of putting in resources to develop a solution that is already available.
     
  6. ribo

    ribo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are many people that use and other OS, not only Cloudlinux .
     
  7. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Only a small percentage of cPanel servers are running CloudLinux.
     
Loading...

Share This Page