The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP accelerator thats compatible with EasyApache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by sehh, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Which PHP accelerator is compatible with EasyApache? When i use EA to recompile apache/php, i couldn't find anything about a PHP accelerator that can be automatically installed by EA. Is there something like APC or eAccelerator that comes with EA or do i have to do this manually?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use /scripts/phpextensionmgr to install:

    EAccelerator
    IonCubeLoader
    Zendopt
    SourceGuardian
    PHPSuHosin

    No need to use easyapache for this.
     
  3. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Thank you for your prompt reply, below are a few more questions that i have:

    1) I've got Ioncube loader enabled and installed from EA and the modules are properly loaded by php.ini. Still, this requires that we buy the commercial compiler in order to use it, am i right?

    2) Are the rest of the accelerators free for commercial use?

    3) Do they interfere with php libraries like Smarty?

    4) Do they interfere with suphp that we have installed via EA?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You don't need these to load encoded apps, only to create encoded apps.

    I made a separate post above to address this, with citations.

    In my experience, they don't. Smarty implements application-level caching, which is different from optimizing the actual execution of PHP code.

    I know SuPHP used to cause some issues with some of these, but it's been a while - perhaps someone with more contemporary experience with this than I can address this.
     
  6. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    IonCubeLoader - not an option since it requires a commercial compiler
    Zendopt: not an option since it requires a commercial compiler with a yearly subscription
    SourceGuardian: - not an option since it requires a commercial compiler
    PHPSuHosin: - its not a cache/binary optimizer as far as the website says

    i guess the only free, open source and on-the-fly cache is EAccelerator :)

    no need to compile your php files, it just generates a binary cache of each on load and keeps it for as long as its needed.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note, you can still serve regular PHP files on servers that have this software installed.
     
  8. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Yes i understand that, thank you.
     
  9. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Unfortunately, i have bad news, i'm writing this in case someone else wants caching under suphp:

    Apparently, its impossible to run any of the above (or any other) cache system under suphp. I've tested eaccelerator, xcache, acp and others and none of them work under suphp.

    In other words, you have to choose between security (suphp) or speed (mod_php), since caching doesn't work with suphp.

    Too bad :(
     
  10. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    that doesn't make much sense, suphp could easily run an accelerator that stores compiled source code in a temporary directory as the user who executed the script.

    looking at the source code, it seems that the authors of suphp and the authors of the different accelerators just haven't sat down and solved the issue.
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's the very security that suPHP gives you that breaks the use of such accelerators unfortunately.
     
  12. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    not really, suphp could easily use an accelerator to store temporary compiled binaries owned by the executing user.

    looking at the source code, its possible but not that easy.

    i guess the developers are just not interested to implement this feature or that the accelerator teams haven't contacted them.
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want the security of suPHP and the benefit of the accelerators, then FastCGI is possibly a better solution for you.
     
  14. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Does FastCGI support running php scripts as the owner of the file? If yes then i might consider it.
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes it does. It is faster than suPHP, with the trade-off of being more difficult to configure. In the long run it can give you more benefit.
     
Loading...

Share This Page