The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php/apache RPM

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by B12Org, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can I use RPM builds of apache and php or do I have to use the easy apache and compile it from source in cpanel ?
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi B12Org,

    I recommend you to use easyapache. Its a pre-configured script that allows you to easily update. You just need to run '/scripts/easyapache'.

    Check the following url for more details.

    cPanel - The Apache Configuration System

    :)
     
  3. asent

    asent Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I agree. Very easy to manage with 0 issues.

    If you have to go RPM, remi is a very good choice. Google them, they keep their packages up2date.
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    At the present time using the EasyApache build system is the only supported method to install and recompile Apache and PHP.

    Is there a specific business requirement or other reason that would necessitate using precompiled binaries in your hosting environment?

    I understand there would be less time needed to complete an Apache and PHP install from RPMs; however, I am curious to know if there may be other needs involved that would benefit or that would be alleviated by using RPMs instead of compiling from source.
     
  5. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Its not so much of a business requirement that it has to be RPM, but over several dozen servers we would like to achieve a system configuraiton and version parity and the easiest way to ensure all systems recieve teh same packages and configurations is through RPM. Additionally this also ensures that each system gets updated very quickly and has little to no impact on the system.

    We use an upstream vendor for our plesk boxes which allow us to use RPM and they maintain and package php and apache with mod_sec all compiled together and with all the latest (and some custom) security patches and usability enhancements that we would like to continue to utilize with out us having to redo them all and rebuild RPMs ourselves or do manual compilations every month...
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Have you considered creating a custom EasyApache build profile? With little effort a customized EasyApache profile can be distributed to other servers, followed by executing EasyApache (via WHM or via SSH) while explicitly using the desired build profile. You may find custom profiles saved within the following directory path:
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/easy/apache/profile/custom/
    For reference, our latest EasyApache documentation is available here, Apache & cPanel/WHM, and has the following related menu path, with additional (linked) documentation: WHM: Main >> Software >> EasyApache (Apache Update)

    System maintenance can be automated by executing EasyApache via command-line (CLI) access; here are a few examples:
    Code:
    # /scripts/easyapache --help
    # /scripts/easyapache --build --profile=profile_name
    # /scripts/easyapache --build --profile=profile_name.yaml
    # /scripts/easyapache --build --profile=/path/to/profile_name.yaml
    # /scripts/easyapache --archive_backup --build --check_httpd_after_each_test --profile=/path/to/profile_name.yaml
     
  7. sirdopes

    sirdopes Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Another way to do this is to setup one server that way that you want and the rsync apache & php to the rest of the servers. It is not that hard to setup a pattern for rsync and only takes a few minutes to update a dozen servers.
     
  8. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can you provide some direction on how to do that?
     
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I believe that to get started you may only need to determine the file system paths to the data involved, for example, custom EasyApache profiles (as described earlier), and then have some familiarity using the command-line utility "rsync" via root SSH access.

    To learn more about rsync I recommend carefully and thoroughly reviewing the manual "man" page and help information using the following commands:
    Code:
    # rsync --help
    # man rsync
    # man rsyncd.conf
     
    #9 cPanelDon, Aug 18, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  10. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thank you The Don. :)
     
  11. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have a list of files or directories that would need to be copied and synced ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page