The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP Configuration Editor vs Cpanel PHP Settings from Tweak

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MrVon, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. MrVon

    MrVon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Main >> Service Configuration >> PHP Configuration Editor
    vs
    Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings >> PHP

    which one is used if i update php from apache?

    If the first one then how do i enable ioncube as php loader for apache?
     
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The first one is to edit the default php.ini for apache ( default /usr/local/lib/php.in - you can check this by using the command " php -i | grep php.ini " from command line )

    The second one is to tweak "cPanel PHP" settings, not the apche-php settings.

    If you would like to enable Ioncube Loader, please run "/scripts/phpextensionmgr install IonCubeLoader" from command line and restart Apche.

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  3. MrVon

    MrVon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I installed Apache by using simpleapache page in WHM, and chosen ioncube checkbox. How i check if it ioncube installed/enabled already.
     
  4. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You have two options..

    1. Run "php -v" from command line. It should show something like as follows

    # php -v
    PHP 5.2.17 (cli) (built: Nov 7 2011 17:46:35)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2010 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2010 Zend Technologies
    with the ionCube PHP Loader v4.0.9, Copyright (c) 2002-2011, by ionCube Ltd.
    with Suhosin v0.9.32.1, Copyright (c) 2007-2010, by SektionEins GmbH

    2. Upload a phpinfo ( How can I create a phpinfo.php page? ) page to your webspace and load it in your browser. Then search for "IonCube"; it should show the IonCube section with "Zen Engine" block, if it is installed.

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  5. MrVon

    MrVon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cooler, its there! even though i have no clue what it does :)
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You also have a third option to check it (this works for most all PHP modules you've installed):

    Code:
    php -m | grep -i ioncube
    Here's an example on my test machine:

    Code:
    root@host [~]# php -m | grep -i ioncube
    ionCube Loader
    the ionCube PHP Loader
    As for what it does, here's a discussion on Wikipedia:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IonCube

    Basically, it allows decoding of encoded IonCube code for PHP scripts. PHP script makers will encrypt their data for protection so that people cannot take their code and reuse it as theirs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page