Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

PHP, EA4 and mod_cgid logging?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by RWH Tech, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think I've worked myself retarded during a server move, so I figured I'd ask around here.

    For S&Gs I installed a Softaculous app called SEO something, but when I hit the app's directory the server gives me a 500. Thing is, there's no error logged in error_log.

    I googled and found the ScriptLog directive for mod_cgid, so I turn it on, give o+w to the /var/log file and get nothing. mod_cgid instructions say "must be writable to the user", so world-writable should be OK, IMO. I even 777'd the thing and nothing.

    SO, who all is running WHM 58, EA4, mod_cgid. and logging PHP errors?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That only applies to EA3. EA4 doesn't currently support mod_fcgid
     
  4. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I just got something to log in that file, by a different application (hubzilla), but the seo app 500's with no log entries.
    Odd.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you verify the specific log file you are checking?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm logging to /var/log/cgi_log
    Other applications, like wordpress, log their errors, but this one does not.
    It's an install of "SEO Panel" I installed to check out and it does not like PHP7.

    Not really important, though I'm curious as to why nothing is logged by it.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Were you able to confirm it's a PHP error and not an Apache error? For instance, is anything logged to /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when this happens?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll just write it off to "something weird and I don't care", since it's not a customer's app that's acting up, but just something I was playing around with. It runs fine in PHP56, but 500's in PHP7.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Feel free to open a support ticket with us in the future if it's something you want us to take a closer look at.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    RWH Tech likes this.
  10. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If a similar issue crops up with a client application, I'll open up a ticket for further investigation.

    Thanks!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice