The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP errors not shown?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gdns, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. gdns

    gdns Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.10.0-R16448
    FREEBSD 6.2-STABLE amd64 - WHM X v3.1.0

    php 5.2.3

    error_reporting E_ALL

    no errors shows, not even in the errorlog.. ?
     
  2. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    What do you have for the following in php.ini:

    display_errors
    log_errors
     
  3. gdns

    gdns Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    display_errors On On

    log_errors On On

    is what phpinfo() says
     
  4. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I've noticed the same thing. PHP errors in scripts appear as a blank white page with no HTML code underneath.
     
  5. LuisMello

    LuisMello Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have same problem with PHP 4.4.7 and PHP 5.2.3
     
  6. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If there's a genuine php error behind all the madness, there should be an error_log file in the directory that the script is running, or a subdirectory of one of the script's includes. If there's no error log file, it might be that there is a syntax error in the page that is not producing any output, which is causing the blank page. Try to find that error_log file and see what it has to say.
     
  7. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Am I crazy or do I see two "On"'s on each line?. Would this cause the application to throw-away the setting ?
     
  8. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  9. MauricioBR

    MauricioBR Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No, he copied it from phpinfo(), one is the local and the other is global value.

    Try making an error (like <?php phpinfo() ?>) in a blank page and see if it appears. Your error report may be disabled in your scripts with ini_set().
     
    #9 MauricioBR, Sep 8, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
  10. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I submitted a ticket about this problem and got this reply:

    Now it's working a treat. :D
     
  11. trevHCS

    trevHCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Essentially you need to edit /usr/local/lib/php.ini (or where ever php.ini is kept) and change the line:

    error_reporting = "E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE"
    ...to...
    error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE


    However, if you use the PHP Editor in WHM it'll switch it back it seems to using the quotes and breaks error reporting. I suspect this might also occur when you switch from PHP4 to PHP5, but I ran the editor soon afterwards so can't be sure.

    I would submit a bugzilla ticket, but for some reason I never get the auth e-mail to create an account (SA whitelists *@cpanel.net) so am a bit stuck there. Tried 3x now, unless the Exim callback thingy isn't compatible with Cpanel Bugzilla...?

    Trev
     
  12. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would tend to think its coming from the whm php editor. I see this in boxes that were php 5 from startup. A client reports not seeing errors shortly after making adjustments.
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is coming from the PHP Editor in WHM. Confirmed in 11.12.0-C17073
     
Loading...

Share This Page