Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

PHP Fastcgi + SuPHP. Is it possible?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stormrider, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. stormrider

    stormrider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello,

    Is it possible to run fastcgi with suPHP. Were anyone able to do this on CPanel?

    CGI + SuPHP uses a lot of resources.

    And PHP ( DSO ) + Eaccelerator is extremeley insecure since you can read and/or delete files from all users ( read all files, delete only the ones with 777 permissions ). And this is valid even when you have open_baserdir enabled!

    I tried to run fcgi + suphp but i got this error: No input file specified

    Thanks for anyone who help.
     
  2. Akira Web

    Akira Web Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. stormrider

    stormrider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Cpanel support told me the same thing :(

    I really don't know what do to, running php as apache module + eacccelerator is extremely fast but totally insecure.

    But running php as cgi is so slow. On my benchmark php-cgi runned 39x slower than php as apache module.
     
  4. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    i just updated Apache to have Apache 2.2 + Mod FCGID + PHP5 + suPHP + fastcgi + Zend Optimier.

    despite couple previous posts indicating suPHP+fastcgi won't work, Apache/PHP seems to be working fine. php script execution speed has increased quite a bit!

    has anyone tried this? encounter any problems? is this a recommanded setup?


    thank you!

    ---
    one problem i have found is that http://server_hostname/~username/some_script.php won't work (500 Internal Server Error).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 torwill, Mar 8, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2008
  5. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have made a compilation just like yours. Except I am with Apache 2.0. Didn't receive any errors or anything. I need fastcgi for Ruby On Rails so I believe there should be no problems.

    Question: Do you actually need Mod FCGID to have fastcgi installed? I'm just looking to have ruby on rails installed.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 Lucas, Mar 8, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2008
  6. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I am using Apache 2.2 + Mod FCGID + PHP5/PHP4 + suPHP + fastcgi + Zend Optimier without problems until this moment.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Are you using fcgi as the PHP handler? ("Configure Suexec and PHP" in WHM)

    Any problem previewing the website by using http://hostname/~username/ ?

    I had the same setup, but could not figure out how to make http://hostname/~username/ work....


    Any help appreciated! Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    No, i tried to configure changing the php handler to fcgi, but i have so many problems... I have back to SUPHP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not sure if this is related but we have a client trying to install the fcgi gem and he gets the error:

    we are running apache 2.2.8 with PHP 5.2.6 and suPHP

    anyone have any ideas on how to resolve this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice