The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP Fastcgi + SuPHP. Is it possible?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stormrider, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. stormrider

    stormrider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Is it possible to run fastcgi with suPHP. Were anyone able to do this on CPanel?

    CGI + SuPHP uses a lot of resources.

    And PHP ( DSO ) + Eaccelerator is extremeley insecure since you can read and/or delete files from all users ( read all files, delete only the ones with 777 permissions ). And this is valid even when you have open_baserdir enabled!

    I tried to run fcgi + suphp but i got this error: No input file specified

    Thanks for anyone who help.
     
  2. Akira Web

    Akira Web Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. stormrider

    stormrider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel support told me the same thing :(

    I really don't know what do to, running php as apache module + eacccelerator is extremely fast but totally insecure.

    But running php as cgi is so slow. On my benchmark php-cgi runned 39x slower than php as apache module.
     
  4. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just updated Apache to have Apache 2.2 + Mod FCGID + PHP5 + suPHP + fastcgi + Zend Optimier.

    despite couple previous posts indicating suPHP+fastcgi won't work, Apache/PHP seems to be working fine. php script execution speed has increased quite a bit!

    has anyone tried this? encounter any problems? is this a recommanded setup?


    thank you!

    ---
    one problem i have found is that http://server_hostname/~username/some_script.php won't work (500 Internal Server Error).
     
    #4 torwill, Mar 8, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2008
  5. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have made a compilation just like yours. Except I am with Apache 2.0. Didn't receive any errors or anything. I need fastcgi for Ruby On Rails so I believe there should be no problems.

    Question: Do you actually need Mod FCGID to have fastcgi installed? I'm just looking to have ruby on rails installed.

    Regards
     
    #5 Lucas, Mar 8, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2008
  6. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using Apache 2.2 + Mod FCGID + PHP5/PHP4 + suPHP + fastcgi + Zend Optimier without problems until this moment.
     
  7. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you using fcgi as the PHP handler? ("Configure Suexec and PHP" in WHM)

    Any problem previewing the website by using http://hostname/~username/ ?

    I had the same setup, but could not figure out how to make http://hostname/~username/ work....


    Any help appreciated! Thanks
     
  8. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, i tried to configure changing the php handler to fcgi, but i have so many problems... I have back to SUPHP.
     
  9. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not sure if this is related but we have a client trying to install the fcgi gem and he gets the error:

    we are running apache 2.2.8 with PHP 5.2.6 and suPHP

    anyone have any ideas on how to resolve this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page