Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

PHP-FPM and Apache Mod_Userdir

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by exelletor, Oct 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. exelletor

    exelletor Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Delft, Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello guys,

    I am having quite a lot of issues with speed optimization of my VPS, so I started with performing mysqltuner.pl tests, enabling cache etc. Eventually I ended up installing WHM 60.0.5 (current?) to enable PHP-FPM support.

    I managed to enable PHP 7 and PHP-FPM for a number of my websites and they are totally fine - they are not as fast as a Ferrari, but they have very decent load speeds, especially compared to how slow they were before.

    However, the tricky part is that I can not enable PHP-FPM support for the rest of my websites. In total I have about twenty of them, most of which are development websites. After I try to enable PHP-FPM, I notice that the website gets slower and when I perform a php-info test, I see that PHP version has changed to 5.6. Still, in the Multi PHP manager it still shows as 7.0. The website that is trying to beat a Ferrari shows the correct 7.0 version of php.
    All of the websites are just ordinary Wordpress/Woocommerce websites... What could be causing this?

    My VPS specs are:

    Centos 7
    Dual Core
    1.5 GB RAM
    50GB SSD
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just to rule it out: have you tried restarting Apache and php-fpm?

    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    /scripts/restartsrv_apache_php_fpm
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. exelletor

    exelletor Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Delft, Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I didn't know about the existence of cPanel ticket support, but the problem is now sorted. For users that might run into the same issue as I did - PHP-FPM is not compatible with mod userdir. So you need to view your websites through the regular domain like domain.com and not with cPanels host.com/~user which I used for my staging environments.
     
    #3 exelletor, Oct 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2016
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @exelletor,

    Thank you for taking the time to update this thread with the outcome.

    Currently, when you browse to "WHM > Security Center > Apache Mod Userdir Tweak", you will see the following message if Mod_Ruid2 or MPM_ITK are enabled:

    Internal case CPANEL-9418 is open to reduce confusion by updating this message to include PHP-FPM and the CGI handler for PHP, as neither are compatible with Mod_Userdir. I'll update this thread with any status updates on this case as they become available.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice