The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php function mail () not working within my account

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by chike, Sep 19, 2009.

1. chike

chike Member

hello everyone,

i am new to web hosting and the first reseller account i bought is giving me a hell of headeache.

i found out that the pages i uploaded in my public_html folder and that of the clients i hosted on my reseller account have a problem with the php mail () function. the function just does not work.

i use php form to email scripts a lot, and in all of my other hosting accounts, i use form to email scripts, but since over a month ago that i bought a reseller hosting account from one hosting company here in nigeria, my scripts all of a sudden are no longer working - they just do not send any emails.

pls do u know what i should do?

i have been emailing the company that sold the reseller account to me but they seem not to know what to do about the problem.

pls help me out if you could.

:confused:

2. thewebhosting

thewebhosting Well-Known Member

PHP mail() function does not require SMTP authentication to send emails from server. Hence, most of the hosting providers disables it due to security reasons.

You can use SMTP authenticated script instead like phpmailer().

3. Spiral

Spiral BANNED

It is quite possible that they don't know what's wrong! :rolsleyes:

You would be surprised how many "hosts" out there don't know even the basics.

I would need to know more about their configuration and then could probably tell you specifically what is wrong within just a couple of seconds.

Some of the more common possibilities include:

• Restricting access for user nobody when PHP is not SuPHP
    • Disabling mail() function
    • Disabled or misconfigured mail server / Configuration