The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php.ini and rebuild

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Peoplespaces, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello:

    Whenever i reconfigure php (php configuration editor) I have to rebuild apache and PHP to make it run again. Is this normal? Surely there is a short cut I don't know about. Anyone help?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What happens when you run the php version check in root SSH? Do you get any errors?

    Code:
    php -v
    Trying to find out what specific error outputs to troubleshoot it.
     
  3. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Tristen

    PHP 5.2.17 (cli) (built: Jul 14 2011 21:08:15)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2010 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2010 Zend Technologies
    with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.3.20, Copyright (c) 2002-2010, by ionCube Ltd., and
    with Zend Optimizer v3.3.9, Copyright (c) 1998-2009, by Zend Technologies
    with Suhosin v0.9.32.1, Copyright (c) 2007-2010, by SektionEins GmbH
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is PHP working right now? If so, I meant to check it when PHP is no longer working.

    Otherwise, please tail the Apache error logs for a non-working site and provide the error message showing there on visiting the PHP page:

    Code:
    tail -fn0 /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
     
  5. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I will have to do this in the wee hours and get back to you. Don't want to take any chances right now. Thanks
     
  6. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi again:

    Just so I understand are you saying it is not normal to have to rebuild after changing the php.ini file?
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct, it isn't normal to have to rebuild Apache or recompile Apache upon editing the php.ini file.
     
  8. ServerMascot

    ServerMascot Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If PHP is compiled as Apache Handler, restarting apache
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart
    would be enough to bring the changes into effect. Please let me know the error that you are getting while doing this in future.
     
  9. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This has happened on one server and I am trying to find which one. Will update when I know.

    Thanks for your help so far though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page