The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP not turned on within /frontend/ ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dotcoms, Nov 18, 2002.

  1. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a small problem running php apps within the /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/ directory, specifically php is not turned on it seems, as when installing some other additional themes that use php, they do not work.. i tried simple php scripts within /frontend/ and they confirm that php isn't working.

    PHP is executing just fine everywhere else.

    How is php enabled within the cpanel theme directory /frontend/?
    Never had this problem before, any assist would be appreciated.
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm now looking for the same answer.
     
  3. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah I'm still stuck with this.... php is working fine as long as you view pages in /frontend/ via port 80 - I put a symlink to a php script that was located within my theme directory and it worked.. only when viewing using cpanel ports, php doesn't work...

    Anyone?
     
  4. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Inside frontend directory in particular I think nothing works.
    Have you tried to store them inside a theme directory, or as /base/3rdparty/yourscript/whatever.php?
     
  5. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, they are in the theme directory... /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/theme/fantastico/ - fantastico is the theme that we are trying to get working.. it works fine on other servers.. just not this one and it's definitely php thats turned off somehow when viewing with cpanel.....
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I tried that and it comes back in the browser as &Cannot find server& but other things under 3rdparty work fine just new stuff I create doesn't.
     
  7. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    What do these yield?
    # ls -l /usr/local/cpanel/cpanelphp
    # ls -l /var/cpanel/usecpphp
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    They yield

    # ls -l /usr/local/cpanel/cpanelphp
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1020 Mar 6 2002 /usr/local/cpanel/cpanelphp*
    # ls -l /var/cpanel/usecpphp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 22 00:26 /var/cpanel/usecpphp
     
  9. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  10. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep same here, only php isn't working still within the theme directory........
     
  11. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did anyone get a solution for this?
     
  12. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not yet Joanna, I am still working on fixing this too...
     
  13. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, hopefully we can get a solution soon.. ticket to Cpanel support has been met with ignorance..
     
  14. Dotcoms

    Dotcoms Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I actually found that that /tmp had the incorrect permissions.. don't know how that occurred on that server but it did :)
     
  15. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:51fb346b39][i:51fb346b39]Originally posted by Dotcoms[/i:51fb346b39]

    I actually found that that /tmp had the incorrect permissions.. don't know how that occurred on that server but it did :)[/quote:51fb346b39]

    Had the same exactly.. changing permissions did the trick.
     
  16. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What were the correct permissions?
     
  17. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:cb20bbe3c6][i:cb20bbe3c6]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:cb20bbe3c6]

    What were the correct permissions?[/quote:cb20bbe3c6]

    1777
     
  18. Roy@ENHOST

    Roy@ENHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles California
    How do we access the '/base/3rdparty/yourscript/whatever.php'
    from a page on the cpanel theme?

    Whenever I include a PHP file from the theme it will report the following error.

    Fatal error: Failed opening required 'english.php' (include_path='/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/lib/php/') in /tmp/cpanel.dinnex.1056143880.30923 on line 3

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You will have to use the full path b/c of how the wrapper works.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. Chase

    Chase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    PHP:
    <? include = "/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/CPanelXP5/english.php"?>
    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page