The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP refuses to upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Snowman30, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Got a very strange problem on one of our servers

    Its running RH3 and the latest CURRENT cpanel release

    We tried to upgrade from php 5.1.6 to 5.2.3 and it just wont upgrade

    so we reset apache to defaults and it loaded 4.4.7

    So we then went in again and rebuilt it with 5.2.3 and everythign appears to have gone ok until the very end where it shows :

    it clearly shows PHP compiling 5.2.3 during the process

    since the rebuild php-v shows 4.4.7 and all php files show
    i dont understand whats going on

    anyone have any ideas?
     
    #1 Snowman30, Aug 1, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2007
  2. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ive now built php manually and still now joy after retsarting php it still shows the old version
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you tick the PHP module checkbox when compiling from WHM apache update?
     
  4. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    after 30 rebuilds in the last 48 hours on this server... yes everything is being done properly...

    i ended up scrubbing the lot and rebuilding apache and php from scratch
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Looks like you are still missing or have some incomplete libraries. At this point I would take the suggestion in the other post and submit a cpanel ticket. 30 builds? I would have quit after 29 myself!
     
  6. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    yeah thanks, have a ticket in

    its a very weird issue and only seems to affect our RHE 3 and 4 servers
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ran into the same problem with a Server using CentOS release 3.8.

    Going from 4.4.1 to 5.x just would not work. Did get it to upgrade to 5.1.6 though.

    Read a post that someone used option 8 (updating in Shell) to rebuild Apache and it worked for upgrading to 5.2.3. Mind you, I'm presuming they previously copied over the 'php' dir.

    cp /usr/bin/php /usr/bin/php-cgi

    Apparently, 5.2.3 requires it but since successfully getting to 5.1.6 ourselves, after an hour or so of downtime on a production Server, very leary about trying any further updates -- at least for awhile.
     
Loading...

Share This Page