The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php running as root crashing server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by deieno, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. deieno

    deieno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Floripa - Brazil
    Hi there,
    I tried to look for a solution but I can't find it in anywhere.
    So let's see if somebody has a similar issue.

    Since we upgrade our servers to cPanel 11 this started to happen. Sundaly system create a php process running as root that eats cpu and overload the server. When this happens load goes to 20/30... I aways saw in time to avoid a crash but I think server would crash if I don't kill the process in time.

    The problem is... I have no idea why this process arrise. I don't know how to simulate to ask cpanel support to solve it. And other thing... this doesn't happen on a single server... Until now I saw this happens with 4 servers. So shouldn't be a isolated issue.

    The top processo show:

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    8275 root 18 0 12472 6208 2452 D 60.3 0.6 1:19.62 php

    if anyone had a similar situation and resolved the issue, please give me some tip.

    Thanks
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    lsof and /proc might be able to indicate what the process is (most likely I'd guess at a php line in your root crontab):

    lsof -p PID

    ls -la /proc/PID/


    (both will only work when the process is running)
     
  3. deieno

    deieno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Floripa - Brazil
    as AWAYS... you are abolutly correct.
    There was a php line at cron, something about fantastico:
    43 11 * * * cd /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/fantastico/scripts/ ; /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php cron.php > /dev/null 2>&1

    I'll remove it.

    (or do you think this cron is really necessary?)

    Thank you very much.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'd actually be surprised if it was that as it only (should) run at 11:43 each day - from the crontab line.

    I'd also suggest checking the following dirs and files:

    cat /etc/crontab

    ls -la /etc/cron.*/*
     
  5. deieno

    deieno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Floripa - Brazil
    yes.. the issue was that... the time of the overload was arount 11h43
    I took a look on all my server... and all server that have fantastico installed had this cront, but not all had this issue.
    The strange is that this cron is there for months... and just recently started to acct as I explain before.

    Well, I remove the cron.. I just don't know if wasn't necessary for fantastico updates.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Only if you have Fantastico set to check for outdated scripts under Updates and Notifications.

    Not sure why that would overload the server though. Do you have a lot of Fatastico scripts installed? Might check in with kosmo on this as that feature is new.
     
Loading...

Share This Page