The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php script?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ThunderHostingDotCom, Jul 20, 2003.

  1. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    How do I increase the number of seconds that a php script can run?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Edit your php.ini file
    Find: max_execution_time = 30
    Augment/Decrease 30 to your liking.
    service httpd restart

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Edit php.ini. max_execution_time is the variable that needs to be changed.
     
  4. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!

    Great, now where can I find the php.ini file & do I access it by SSH? What is a safe time to set the setting to?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You need SSH. To find your php.ini use the slocate command: "slocate php.ini"--it's usually in /usr/local/lib/php.ini. 10 - 15 seconds is usually more than enough time to execute something on a system that isn't loaded.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    30 seconds is the default. There shouldn't be much reason to go higher than that. I wouldn't go over 60 seconds.
     
  7. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    Thank you all!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page