The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php session cookie lifetime

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cheitac, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. cheitac

    cheitac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All!

    Can i "change session.cookie_lifetime = 0" to other value? Does it causes security problems or server load? I decide to do that because my client says that some his users, have problems with web logins, who has different timezone settings.

    Someone can help me?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure thats the best way to go. You can change it though, via WHM > Service Configuration > PHP Configuration > Advanced Mode, session.cookie_lifetime.

    If you haven't yet, you might like to read this:
    session.cookie_lifetime integer
    You might have them check the software being used for the web login for Time Zone settings. Do you know what software is being used?
     
  3. cheitac

    cheitac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They uses normal browsers (Mozilla firefox, Google Chrome, e.t.c ).
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I meant the website software they're logging into and having the problem. ;)
     
  5. cheitac

    cheitac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't know. they have something modified engine. I ask about that.

    thanks! ;)
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's what I was thinking might be the case. If you have a problem with the server (or cPanel) that's one thing. If its some kind of custom script not working as it should, changing settings on the server is only going to make other sites/software not work so well that were working as they should previously.

    Better to fix the script than mess with default server settings like this, IMHO.
     
Loading...

Share This Page