The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP, SuExec, FastCGI and Apache 1.3.x

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by asterisk, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. asterisk

    asterisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I have been cracking my head several days over this and would really appreciate any help on this please. I've installed FCGI 2.4.0 and mod_fastcgi 2.4.2 for Apache 1.3.x as a DSO.

    My addition to httpd.conf is as follows:


    Code:
    <IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
        FastCgiIpcDir /tmp/fcgi_ipc/
        AddHandler fastcgi-script .fcgi
        FastCgiWrapper On
        FastCgiConfig -autoUpdate -singleThreshold 100 -killInterval 300 -idle-timeout 240 -pass-header HTTP_AUTHORIZATION
        Action application/x-httpd-fastphp /php.fcgi
        AddType application/x-httpd-fastphp .php .php4 .php3
    </IfModule>
    
    /tmp/fcgi_ipc is owned by nobody with 755 permissions.

    And php.fcgi is a shell script in each user's public_html directory with the following code:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    PHP_FCGI_CHILDREN=2
    export PHP_FCGI_CHILDREN
    PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=5000
    export PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS
    exec /usr/local/apache/cgi-bin/php-cgi
    
    php-cgi -v is as follows:


    Code:
    PHP 4.4.2 (cgi-fcgi) (built: Mar 28 2006 22:06:09)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2006 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
        with Zend Extension Manager v1.0.9, Copyright (c) 2003-2006, by Zend Technologies
        with Zend Optimizer v2.6.2, Copyright (c) 1998-2006, by Zend Technologies
    
    I'm currently getting the error below in my error_log and on the front end, I get a 500 Internal Server Error via the browser when I try to read PHP files off Apache now. Any help from those who have had this setup working would be a great help here. Have been reading the manuals and on google but they seem a lil sketchy or otherwise for Apache 2 config.

    Code:
    [warn] FastCGI: (dynamic) server "/home/mainuser/public_html/php.fcgi" has failed to remain running for 30 seconds given 3 attempts, its restart interval has been backed off to 600 seconds
    
    
    Thank you so much.
     
    #1 asterisk, Apr 4, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2006
  2. asterisk

    asterisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    By the way, if anyone has performed an installation on FastCGI, PHP and SuExec, would really appreciate if you could show your FastCGI's IfModule configuration in httpd.conf please.

    I reckon it may be something wrong with my IfModule's configuration but I'm not exactly sure what as I've followed the docs to a T.

    Cheers.
     
  3. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    were you able to get this working? if so, got a howto for us?

    i've been doing some reading, apparently EDGE has suPHP support, along with a new EasyApache script (easyapache2), but they're having issues with it as well. according to some users, there are a number of patches you'll need to apply to get suphp to work with cpanel

    hrmph, that's a shame.
     
Loading...

Share This Page